HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Jarrod'sTech

Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Case Review - Tempered Glass

487 ratings | 47984 views
I bought the Phanteks Enthoo Luxe case with tempered glass for an upcoming server build, so let’s find out what it’s got to offer and how it is to build in. This review will show you the important features and help you decide if the case is worth spending the money on. Check out my review of the Phanteks RGB LED strip combo which lights the inside of the case here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j134tDjFNc Interested in buying one of these cases for your next build? Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2p5zhEe --- Follow me here --- Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/JarrodsTech Google+ - https://plus.google.com/+JarrodsTech/ We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (149)
Gambit (1 month ago)
I am such a HUGE fan of planteks as of late. They are really stepping up there case game. Thanks for the review. I have a Maximus V Extreme and this case will be perfect for it!!!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Cheers! Sounds good 👍
t3l3 fr4gg3d (2 months ago)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EZ6z8Sgwi0 3:29 it looks like an imperial bay in the death star or a star destroyer from star wars
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
😁
1847 ת (3 months ago)
It's kind of funny, because this case breaks Cooler Master's neck and others too. Even if this case is "old" it's still good. Well, it depends if you need USB 3.1 Type C ports.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I still use it, great case!
Le Leedler (3 months ago)
What are all the RGB colours this case can show?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem!
Le Leedler (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech thanks very much!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I took a quick video cycling through all the lights, the white looks kind of light blue which is pretty common with LED lighting, hope that helps: https://youtu.be/fGK7mqe8skA
Le Leedler (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Thanks! Sometimes they avoid white and while your power button appeared white I was hoping to see how true to tone that white is or if it was white at all!?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
There are 10 colours, as to what they are, well I'd have to plug it in and boot it up to check, but assuming 10 colours you'd probably just have your standard stuff, red/blue/green/yellow/purple and different shades of those.
Darko Kutleša (3 months ago)
Jarrod which case would you recommend me to buy? Enthoo luxe tg or corsair obsidian 750D airflow edition?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem!
Darko Kutleša (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech i just want it to fit trio fan graphics card and 360mm aio cooler for cpu if thats possible without any problems i vote for Enthoo, thank you for the answer!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I haven't actually used the Corsair one so hard to say, it looks alright but personally I prefer the full glass side of the Enthoo Luxe TG 👌
Ahmed Baluch (4 months ago)
Thanks for the review, i have the same case exactly 😊👍🏼
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
No problem! Cool hope you like it 😀
Pasha Defragzor (6 months ago)
Good looking case, but usb menu is horizontal TT
meanmiguel (8 months ago)
Anyone know how to connect this to the 5 pin RGB LED Aorus motherboard??
Bibhuranjan Nath (8 months ago)
Good review
Jarrod'sTech (8 months ago)
Thanks!
Sk Sadi (9 months ago)
I subed you again from my another ID lol. Keep it up.
Jarrod'sTech (9 months ago)
Thanks! Will do 😃
The Guy (10 months ago)
Will a z370 asus apex fit in it?I'm thinking about this one or the fractal design xl r2
The Guy (10 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech thank you friend!
Jarrod'sTech (10 months ago)
Sounds good to me, either option sounds good though :p
The Guy (10 months ago)
Hi there,actually i was thinking,i'm gonna go with the Fractal Design XL R2,paired up with 3x NOCTUA NF-A14 industrialPPC-3000 PWM fans(because it's performance for cooling,and the fractal case is built to be silent,so i think that would be a good combination).What do you think?
Jarrod'sTech (10 months ago)
No problem, sounds good!
The Guy (10 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech alright,thank you sir,i think im getting the luxe,and i will put 3 or 4 noctua fans in it.
alyraver (10 months ago)
Awesome review. Just about to get this case and your review sealed the deal!
Jarrod'sTech (10 months ago)
+alyraver sweet 😀 hope you like it!
Nicholas Carriglio (11 months ago)
Nice! but the rgb led is already installed or i got to be "put" ?
Jarrod'sTech (11 months ago)
+Nicholas Carriglio the one on the outside of the case is already installed and is part of the case, the interior strips are extra and installed yourself
jl644 (11 months ago)
You fucked my OCD up @3:08
Jarrod'sTech (11 months ago)
:D
Zeke Levin (11 months ago)
Just finished upgrading most of my components, and got this case. Super easy to build in, and looks awesome. Only thing is, I'm going to have to do it again around January because I'm upgrading my CPU and Motherboard :)
Jarrod'sTech (11 months ago)
Great to hear it! I considered buying a second one for my Threadripper PC, only ended up choosing something else so I'd get the chance to try something else haha, otherwise I'd have just gotten a second!
Nicolas De Clercq (1 year ago)
wtf, pliers to screw in/out standoffs? you deserve a beating, go and get a 1/4" socket-set!
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
haha yeah I should probably get one, they did the job :p
Victoria Steele (1 year ago)
Does this case come with a fan controller? Or will I have to buy one separate
Victoria Steele (1 year ago)
Thanks for the info!
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
There's a fan hub that allows you to plug in up to 6 fans, but the case comes with 4 so there's only two free. Other than that there's not really any way of controlling the fans straight out of the box.
Krismeister (1 year ago)
SO MUCH GLASSSSSSSSSS AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Haha you should see the next case I'm doing a video of, glass panel on almost every side!
insenence (1 year ago)
Are the changing LEDs the ones that are already included with the case or are those the ones that you installed? I'm searching for a case that matches with my Razer Chroma keyboard, etc. and the LEDs should change like a rainbow, but most reviews only show this case glowing one color.
insenence (1 year ago)
Jarrod'sTech Okay, thank you very much for your help!
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yes that's right, there's a button on the front/top of the case used to change the light colour / effect.
insenence (1 year ago)
Jarrod'sTech So that means that there is a option already available, where the colors change like you showed at the beginning of the video right? (Sorry, I'm German and want to be sure haha.)
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
The ones along the outside of the case are already installed, I also installed my own light strip, link to the video is in the description for that one.
Felix Martono (1 year ago)
Thank you for this video. It's suppper hard to find a server build with a gaming case like you did. I'm also using SSI-EEB mobo, do you think a AIO single radiator for both socket will fit on the upper intake?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah there weren't many options out there for SSI-EEB like this, just eyeballing my case yeah I think there's room for it, I haven't tested myself though.
file1man (1 year ago)
hard to see on jarrod's video but in his server build here, I dont see a video card. all slots seem empty. Does he use only on board motherboard video? so perhaps that why case looks spacious. Im so disappointed in this very badly designed case. and oh yes, you might buy a full side panel clear window only to see that hugh steel wall that helps stop that crazy flex because the metal is so thin. yes that steel wall blocks any good airflow. am so disappointed. 2 of my 9 standoff screws where lower than the rest of the standoffs & came stripped from phanatek.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yes that is correct, there is no graphics card here. I don't connect any monitors to the server at all, it's all managed remotely over the network. To install Hyper-V Server 2016 I plugged a VGA monitor into the motherboard directly.
file1man (1 year ago)
I have a lux. Absolutely terrible for liquid cooling. I was misled by 3 rated 2 reviews and 93 good reviews on newegg. Turns out, almost all reviews were by first time case owners, none used liquid cooling. I tried to use an ek 360 slim rad kit- fans for the rad only go in the roof & if fans are led, you will not see them. fans " can not" be attached to a radiator if placed inside the case- the fans intrude on the mobo. rad " can not" be put in top hood since 2 stupid plastic tabs hit 360 slim rad. case is very poorly designed. The filter on the case front is attached with hard to remove plastic tabs from 10 years ago- no magnetic easy to remove filter there. 1080 msi gaming x gpu is 2/16 inches from liquid reservoir, crazy poor & you must hide a reservoir partially behind that carzy steel wall.. see the phanatek forum before you buy. that fan controler on the back overheats all the time, and anything connected must run at the same spped at the fan w white connector. about that steel wall- cant be even partially removed because one 1080 gpu flexes the entire mobo tray . so disappointed. yes, an eatx mobo fits. I am building a threadripper 1950x with asus extreme mobo which is an inch longer and same width of standard board. but, this case is a disaster. Jarrod air cools his server so he didnt realize liquid cooling with this case has many, many bad design problems
t3l3 fr4gg3d (1 month ago)
and what is the better case in your opinion?
Darko Kutleša (3 months ago)
So im good with single trio fan graphics card and 360mm aio?
War Daddy (6 months ago)
Draϟa because with all the new tech hardware coming out and all and one cpu coolers water coolers are really unnecessary to have these days and extra cost and management not needed. gpus are made nowadays to run at 75-80degrees no problem I've had my 980 in my secondary pc since it's release still running strong at 78 degrees. I mean by all means if you wanna nerd out on water cooling go for its just really not necessary anymore. In my secondary I run a 4770k Haswell with a all in one cooler since release oc it's runs at 30-40 degrees top.
alyraver (9 months ago)
file1man I have a 360 ek rad in the top of mine and fits fine? I will say tho the the aluminium is very very thin and can bend out of shape quite easy. I used a dremmel on mine to chop the side panel. I kept the bay section and just chopped the panel below which houses the ssds. I moved and refited it to the back so the ssds can still be on show and also so I could mount the xres on the front panel. The case overall is pretty good if you are willing to do some mods to get custom loops to not only fit but also look good.
10ee (9 months ago)
That's weird, because I had a 420mm Alphacool ST30 radiator in the top of the Enthoo Pro which does not allow fans in the roof.. But because there is no off-set of the top fans/rad, your motherboard design can block the water ports. I will say this: Phanteks does something wrong with their case lineup: The Pro is better than the Luxe, and the Enthoo Pro M is far better than the Enthoo Evolv ATX. The Pro and Pro M have far better airflow than their more expensive, and "aluminum" big brothers. The Pro M fixes the flex issues (which I commented on 3 years ago when I first bought the Pro) and is a lot cheaper, and you can get the SE version which comes with their Halo RGB fan rings, which can turn any fan into RGB, has tempered glass, and is $50.00 less than the Luxe and Evolv ATX TG versions. If I compared the Enthoo Pro to my older 2013 NZXT Phantom 530, the Phantom 530 has much better build quality, and similar capabilities. So yeah, while I wouldn't say it's terrible for DiY WC cooling, the case quality itself is not what you think it is.
Andrew P (1 year ago)
Awesome review! Im building something similar and looking at the case, just wish they would update their Primo range!
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Sweet :)
Gyro Zepelli (1 year ago)
if using a front mounted radiator would the drive cages need to be removed
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah it would.
Sean Sinha (1 year ago)
You can use a driver for standoffs instead of pliers, so that you don't scratch your paint.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah probably would have been a better idea lol, I just worked with what I had :p
M H (1 year ago)
I just won this case on evga 18th anniversary scavenger hunt. It should show off my 2 evga 1080ti ftw3 I have really nice. I hope its not to big might look funny on my desk. Thanks for the review I enjoyed it.
file1man (11 months ago)
M H I found this case impossible for any liq cooling kit except aio. What did u use. I've never seen a case rated so high by new users &have so many negatives. Steel wall blocks good air flow, no room for pump & rad, front filter not magnetic & holes let in unfiltered air,fan controller is 3 pin,runs all connections at 100 %,can't put rad in top hood. Get a corsair 750d, box ugly but useful in every way
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
No problem, hey that's cool that you won it! The case is a little big I think, but still looks good :)
TheInfamousIceman (1 year ago)
Hey I bought the same one as you but so they all come with the led combo? I haven't finished building it yet (it's my first time) but in wondering if it comes with the rgb... (I bought a 3 meter led strip just in case that plugs into the power supply)
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
My case did not come with the light strip, I bought that separately, I did a video on the strip itself here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j134tDjFNc
Paul F (1 year ago)
Very Good review. I was looking for what changed, between the older Luxe, and the new TG version. It appears they got rid of the 200mm fan, for 2-140s and included another ssd bracket, for 2 total, along with the tempered glass. These appear to be the same basic guts as the Enthoo Pro cases as well, albeit without lighting ,glass or xtra ssd bracket and a 200mm fan in front instead of 2-140"s Thanks for the well done review! These cases still seem to be the best for watercooling, after 2yrs have gone by. :)
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Thanks! Glad you liked it :) I hadn't looked at the older version so it's interesting to hear about how it's changed!
FGVFSS8409 (1 year ago)
Looks super nice, can't wait to start mine in a few months. 🙄
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah I was the same, I was originally planning to get an 8 core Intel CPU, but it's hard to ignore more cores for not much extra :) I'd use them for video rendering etc anyway, so it all depends on how it benchmarks though!
FGVFSS8409 (1 year ago)
Jarrod'sTech yeah the threadripper looks pretty dope, but I don't know if I can shy away from Intel lol. that's pretty cool man you got shit figured out.I built a threadripper on Pcpartpicker and the whole build came out to roughly $250 less if went with Intel. Can't wait to see the videos.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
At the moment it mostly runs virtual machines, but I was thinking about rendering my videos on it. I'm really interested in Threadripper, I'm waiting to see how it performs when it's out later this month then I'll decide if I get that or Ryzen 7 for my new PC! What ever I end up doing there'll be a bunch of videos on it :)
FGVFSS8409 (1 year ago)
Nice man thanks for the response, unless they come out with some sort of new cases in the next few months with this type of LED's. This one for sure has my vote, nice man what do you use the server for if you don't mind me asking? What type of PC you going to build? =)
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah there's an actual blue which is quite a bit darker, the one I used most of the time is meant to be white, but it actually looks like light blue due to the way the LEDs look. Sounds good! I'm also about to do the same, I used this case for my server :)
07wrxtr1 (1 year ago)
Great vid! This is the case I went with for my first build. It just looks insanely clean with two flush mounted samsung 850 ssd's, just enough, but not over the top rgb lighting, which one can add more if they choose. I removed the drive bays to increase air flow on the front (and who needs spinning drives anymore unless you're backing up, so I use externals when needed). This was a great case for the first time build as you just have tons of room to navigate around, and make updates and changes as needed, and as the video mentions, will work with all sorts of mb styles. Worth mentioning: fits the evga 1080ti ftw3 perfectly even with this installed: https://www.evga.com/articles/01051/evga-powerlink/ (which I might add, should be required when using a beautiful case like this!!). Great case for those that actually want something mature/classy looking while preserving functionality, and the thing is built SOLID, no rattles/noises.
Clive Ellis (2 days ago)
Spinning drives are still relevant as you get huge storage for the price and the new hybrid drives are quick enough. Also, SSD's will lose data overtime.
07wrxtr1 (1 year ago)
Dude, you can slam 8 beers easily and put this together. It's EASY. Quit bein a puss about it
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
From memory I don't think it did, I just plugged one in from my power supply.
07wrxtr1 (1 year ago)
Mine had everything needed, no extra cables needed
Branden M (1 year ago)
I'm assuming it doesn't come with the sata cable for the fan controller module? Planning to do my first build in this thing.
William Buttel (1 year ago)
the LED around the side can you turn it off or change colour to white ?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah you can turn it off, it has what I think is meant to be white, but RGB LED white looks like light blue due to the way that LEDs work, so it doesn't actually look like real white.
julen romero (1 year ago)
Do the lights in the box illuminate the inside? Or have you put other lights on?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
I've used additional lighting strips for the inside, I did a video on them here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j134tDjFNc
mell_man79 (1 year ago)
Considering buying this case. Does the lights on the inside come with the case, or did you add those yourself?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Here's the video on the LED strip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j134tDjFNc
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
The interior lights were an add on, the Phanteks RGB LED strip set, I have a video on it coming out mid next week with more info.
Project Myst (1 year ago)
Where did you get the led strips?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
It's the Phanteks light strip kit, I've got a video on it coming out in a couple of weeks time. Most shops that sell PC parts have it.
Dgeigerd (1 year ago)
Thank you! Very good video and so much Information!
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Cheers :) great to hear!
Carlos Brachtl (1 year ago)
for your rgb light strips did you get the combo set from phanteks?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Here's the video on the LED strip if you're interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j134tDjFNc
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah I did! I'll have a video about it in a couple of weeks.
TriggaHappy97 (1 year ago)
For the stand off issue you had did you make sure you were using the correct threaded ones? Ive had 2 types of threading on stand offs, and luckily I have one of the screw tools for easy installing
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
+TriggaHappy97 some of the holes were already filled with the standoff screws, I just took those out where not needed and screwed them into the holes I did need for my board. I used extra standoff screws from the scree kit as needed.
Firas Dhouibi (1 year ago)
man I have the same case but the LED choose mode is not working why ?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Oh :( perhaps try contacting Phanteks and see if they can help?
Firas Dhouibi (1 year ago)
oh no the effects still not working
Firas Dhouibi (1 year ago)
ok man thx
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Keep changing through the colours, the effect starts to change as you cycle through the colours. I think it did this for me without the extra LED strip.
Firas Dhouibi (1 year ago)
yes I can't change the effect but if I press the light button for 1 sec it change the color, if I press the button for 2 or 2.5 sec the color changes and the choose mode not work just the color is changed and no effects. one more thing I don't have the Phanteks RGB LED Strip
Awesome! I needed detailed info that is presented here! Also liked your presentation! :D Will buy this case soon! ;) Subscribed! Keep uploading quality video! :D Edit: For me I liked it without any music.
Jarrod'sTech Welcome! 😉
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Thanks :) hope you like the case!
J Y (1 year ago)
According to the manual, you can mount a 360 or 3 120mm fans in the front if you remove the optical drive cage, is there any way to mount the third fan there?
J Y (1 year ago)
yes that's what it says but i don't see the mounting holes for 120mm fans, or at least, they don't line up but since it's in the manual..
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Not from what I can see, although it may be possible if you take out the whole drive bay completely.
Christian Calderon (1 year ago)
Nice! I've been thinking about getting the grey version of this case, and this video answers all the questions I had. I'm going to be building a dual lga1366 workstation in this case.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Awesome sounds good :)
LynustheJok3r (1 year ago)
under rated channel
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Hey thanks!
MKris (1 year ago)
I am trying to decide between this case and the enthoo evolv. Size is not a concern for me and the evolv even though it looks a little better, doesnt seem to have the best airflow. From reviews, it looks like this does.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
To be honest I'd have picked the Evolv if it was an option for me and I was doing a standard PC. I was very limited in case selection as I needed one that supported the SSI EEB form factor and this was the best case I could find that had that.
mogtrader8 (1 year ago)
can you also show how to mount ssd in the front?
lacucaracha111111 (1 year ago)
Id say thumbscrew the mount off screw the ssd on (4 screws underneath) put it back on, fiddle cables around and plug them in
mogtrader8 (1 year ago)
Jarrod'sTech yes, would love to see ssd mount ideas.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
I'll try show it when I do the video on the server build that I put in this case :) stay tuned!
mogtrader8 (1 year ago)
what would you do w/ the drive optical bays?
MaZEEZaM (11 months ago)
I think this is the only aspect that spoils this case, who uses optical drives these days? also its missing USB Type C front inputs :(
xpusostomos (1 year ago)
Hmm, you could put optical drives in there? :-) Or a removable hard drive bay. https://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Description=removable%20hard%20drive%20bay&Submit=ENE
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah you could mount additional panels there if you wanted, plenty of available extra IO add ons that fit in the drive bay slots, just need to make sure the motherboard you're using has additional headers to support features like more USB ports.
mogtrader8 (1 year ago)
Jarrod'sTech yes, how about thr outside plates? im trying to find ideas for the bays. maybe more usb ports?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
I took mine out, I needed the space so my SATA cable could reach to the front to mount the SSD.
Valnjes (1 year ago)
Nice case, nice server build. Some backgroud music would be great. And I see You got inspired by Dimitry from HWC. Nice plant too.
MaZEEZaM (11 months ago)
NO>>>>> I am SO SICK of the horrible background music used in so many of these videos.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Thanks! Haha a lot of people seem to have random plants it seems :P got it almost 2 years ago now.
Anorax (1 year ago)
Noctua air coolers .. love them. They are quiet, cool, and efficient. I use an NH-U12S with my latest 7700K build. I do like the full glass side on the Phanteks.
Not a Noob (10 months ago)
replying
Not a Noob (10 months ago)
stop repling to every comment whining about the case. 1 comment may be useful but not 200
file1man (11 months ago)
Anorax my case had many many streaks which looked like i scratched the heck out of it. Turns out thats the way phanatek mfgd the plastic door window. Worst case I've seen in 25 years of pc builds.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah the glass looks awesome with the Noctua coolers I think :) I'll be doing a video on these NH-U12DX i4s in the future because they are pretty good!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.