HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: The Tech Chap

Asus GTX 1060 ROG Strix OC Review - Should You Buy?

2107 ratings | 214583 views
The Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1060 OC is the perfect graphics card for 1080p gaming - but is the overclock and triple-fan cooler enough to warrant the £300/$330 asking price? Or are the GTX 1070 and RX 480 better options? Buy: US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IPVSN1S/?tag=techchap-20 UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01INGT6W0/?tag=techchap-21 Enjoy the video? Like, Share & Subscribe :) ____ Disclaimer: ASUS kindly provided me with this GTX 1060 for review.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (461)
Tech and gaming Stuff (4 days ago)
I bought a gtx 1050ti and I got this beauty. (I ordered it on Amazon India )
test gamer (14 days ago)
My gtx 1060 asus rog strix oc stock speed is on 2015 Mhz
CPI TANKER (20 days ago)
I have that but my processor is a potato, need to buy ryzen 5 I guess
CPI TANKER (14 days ago)
+Xasikl k
Xasikl (14 days ago)
and it costs 103euros 105dollars
Xasikl (14 days ago)
Ryzen 3 1200 (OC 3.9GHZ) **not even needed to OC**
Neo Pistea (26 days ago)
Thank god my case supports a 35 cm card :v
D.R DEAD (1 month ago)
can i control lighting with gigabyte fusion app
D.R DEAD (1 month ago)
please do and tell me i cant find answer anywhere i am making full rgb build having component not syncing will not look good
I don't know but I can test it if you want me to
jeremi marquez (2 months ago)
How i put on vertical?
Tayab Guen (2 months ago)
😍😍
Anshul Kashyap (2 months ago)
Is it better than msi 1060 6gb ?
Dimez (3 months ago)
How many monitors can you hook up with HDMI? Im guessing 2?
Maximo Di Giuseppe (3 months ago)
What do you think of this combo: ryzen 5 1500x gtx asus strix 1060 6gb Gygabite a-320-m 1tb 8gb ram (2400mhz) 550w 80 plus
Valvoja (3 months ago)
Just bought non-oc version from sale for 330€, regular price was 380€ :)
Paley (3 months ago)
Fortnite FPS?
175 fps average
UncommonGaming (4 months ago)
#Asus4Lyfe
Clever FIlms (5 months ago)
In my Country The Strix gtx 1060 oc is more expensive that the strix gtx 1070 non-oc, so what will I buy?
Jojotastic (24 days ago)
obviously the 1070.
Hugo diaz (5 months ago)
Did he just say nvidia driver support is better? Lol
Jake (5 months ago)
I'm going to be getting this but the ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 version.
Walt Kowalski (6 months ago)
''nvidia driviers better'' XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXD
Lunoru Gemini (6 months ago)
Hello there, did you overclock it when you were testing it (more than it was originally overclocked) if so, what settings?
Sekula (6 months ago)
Pls give me sound name nocopyright
dead .dead (6 months ago)
Hi, this card has 2 hdmi ports..that means i shouldn't face any issues connecting 2 monitors with hdmi port. Correct me if im wrong. Thanks
Tanvir Hasan (6 months ago)
Which One You Prefer.?? This Reviewed One Or Asus Dual series Radeon RX 580 OC edition 8GB GDDR5 Graphics Card This One.???
Avius L (6 months ago)
"It's about 11 inches. Just about as long.." missed opportunities my man.. Missed opportunities. Great video. Just bought this.
MrMethadrine (6 months ago)
$330 my ass.Its like $420 now lol.
Santiago Mateo (7 months ago)
Watching in 2018 wishing that the price was still on 2016 /sad
The Bad Ramen (2 months ago)
YOU ARE A LITTERAL FUCKING MEME.........
Papa Noob (7 months ago)
I have a full hd screen (1080p) so no more thoughts im buying this dood!
STOCIQ (7 months ago)
Playing csgo in highest graphics. Using only 12 % of the card with i7-7700
D.R DEAD (1 month ago)
can i control lighting with gigabyte fusion app
leigh prout (2 months ago)
csgo is shit
Rebellion (8 months ago)
Is there any case you'd recommend to buy with this Card?
BlackMagic1 (4 months ago)
I would recommend Genesis Irid 300 but i don't know if it would fit
Benediktas (8 months ago)
lol price in my country is 500 euros
Lyoia (3 months ago)
It's $338 right now in USA
BlackMagic1 (4 months ago)
average $250 in Poland
Leon Langer (5 months ago)
Maroz Games ha i Got it for 340€ 😎😂😂
sas6ki (7 months ago)
USA its $400
Maroz911 YT (7 months ago)
Me 360€
Chiken Nugger (8 months ago)
I have one of these and it works great. When overclocked I can play most games at 1080p max settings with 60fps.
funny PFFF (9 months ago)
Does r5 1600 paired for this 8gb ddr4??
RedCade (9 months ago)
How much quicker will it break then if it was not overclocked?
Wilson Tong (9 months ago)
When I got this, I was like, I can’t afford a 1070 because it was at the time when the 1070 prices were jacked up, so I’ll just get the best 1060
Spetsnaz Kitten (9 months ago)
*he pointed at the opposite ports
Janify (10 months ago)
Well it fits in FRACTAL DESIGN DEFINE MINI C
bricky boi (10 months ago)
How do I make the colors on it change?
Milexous (10 months ago)
2hdmi?
baraa sy (10 months ago)
is there any problem if I use msi h110m gaming motherboard with this asus GTX 1060??
Thomas Anderson (10 months ago)
I created a custom build pc can anyone tell me if its good or not. Thank you Intel - Core i5-7600 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor CPU Cooler Cooler Master - MasterAir Maker 8 66.0 CFM CPU Cooler Motherboard Asus - MAXIMUS IX HERO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard Memory Kingston - HyperX Predator 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3000 Memory Video Card ASUS STRIX-GTX1060-O6G-GAMING Case Cooler Master - MasterCase Maker 5t ATX Mid Tower Case Power Supply Cooler Master - 750W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Khaver Ali (1 month ago)
+Sanity why? Wats wrong with a 1060 and 32gb of ram?? I'm a noob at pc building
Sanity (3 months ago)
Why get 32GB RAM AND A 1060 LMAO
OudomSambat Chorn (10 months ago)
Thomas Anderson I think you should go with a cheaper motherboard and get the i7 And 8th gen Intel CPU is drop now why don't check it out ?
Dr. Tiggy (11 months ago)
No shit it's too expensive. This thing is creeping up on 400 euros in Serbia, with no drop in sight. It's absolute insanity. An American is 5 times richer than a Serb on average, yet he can get this for a bit over 300 US DOLLARS, not euros, *dollars*. Similar situation in most of Europe really, but it hits the hardest in lower standard countries like mine. Fuck this world.
Jaacckkko (11 months ago)
Bought one after watching this video and damn is it good thanks man!
Jaacckkko (11 months ago)
Excited to test mine out!
BearMan (11 months ago)
I have this card and it's really good. I have had 0 problems in games
Aeron Mendoza (11 months ago)
Ok but why are you cute? 😭
Elemental FIRE (11 months ago)
You don’t have the oc
getmeoutalive (11 months ago)
The reason this card has a good potential exceeding the boostclock is simply because it has the 1080/1070 chipset
fawl je baguette (11 months ago)
Is an ASUS RoG RX 580 8gb any better than this?
fawl je baguette (11 months ago)
So I'm ordering a i5 8600k and I'm looking for GPU, I'm trying to decide which is better, ASUS STRIX 1060 6gb or an ASUS STRIX RX 580 8gb. Any suggestion?
MoeMoe (11 months ago)
fAwl I think GTX 1060 Strix
saadmm (1 year ago)
What does "OC" mean?
Darren Koops (1 year ago)
Saadov overclock
RetroX (1 year ago)
It's a sahme this card doesnt support sli.
YoutubeWatcher24/7 (1 year ago)
good review mate! my bro bought one today but 2nd hanD XD
Tsuni N (1 year ago)
Also note the 1060 version doesn't have a rgb back plate like the 1080 and 1070
LuqazDJ (1 year ago)
I am currently using a gtx 950 strix 2gb. Worth the upgrade? I plan on gaming on 1080p.
Xavi168 (11 months ago)
performance is crazy good at 1080p. i love it.
Xavi168 (11 months ago)
wait for ampere
AleRafa 13 (1 year ago)
LuqazDJ yes
Woodland Spirit (1 year ago)
is this still worth buying today? considering upgrading from a gtx 960 2g to this. my motherboard is a z97 gaming 5, processor i5 4690k.
otaku yonku (1 year ago)
can i contact you for something important
Allien Smoker (1 year ago)
Please help! Asus GeForce GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 - Strix DCII or Powercolor RX 580 8GB DDR5 Red Devil Golden edition??
Alex Shi (1 year ago)
this guy keeps saying 4k as f*ck
Sadikur Limon (1 year ago)
Bought it.... This is an absolute beast.....gaming @1080p is heaven for this card...Thanks for the awesome review
Flighted (1 year ago)
and there are single fan gtx 1070s lmao
fezzes (6 months ago)
Flighted gotta play in alaska
Bartosz Proelio (1 year ago)
Do you think it is worth buying right now? Or should I wait? Or even get an RX 56?
Eddie (11 months ago)
Bartosz Proelio yes, you can’t really find any rx 480s or 580s on the market for a reasonable price. With the rx 560, I don’t think you’re getting as much horsepower. Right now, I would get the 1060. That’s just my opinion tho.
no60fps (1 year ago)
rx 580 gaming X plus vs asus strix 1060 which is better ?
BARRY DBB (1 year ago)
what is your opinion? ... 4770k @ 4,3Ghz and 1680x1050 resolution .. should i buy this card or should i save the money and wait for a new pc and new monitor ?
The Tech Chap (1 year ago)
+BARRY DBB yeah this card is just right for your setup i think. Go for it!
Sparxo (1 year ago)
This graphics card is tech porn in component form
Garos97 HUN (1 year ago)
Does anyone know the music title? 2:58
swen westenenk (1 year ago)
Do you recomend this card if you have 2 1080p monitors?
swen westenenk (1 year ago)
thank you i didnt think about that.
william Gaming (1 year ago)
swen westenenk if you're just gaming on fullscreen and not windowed it should be fine, but put in mind that you cant go to your other monitor while gaming.
swen westenenk (1 year ago)
Oke but i am only gaming on one monitor
william Gaming (1 year ago)
swen westenenk i recommend the 1070 for a dual monitor
loqman Jamil (1 year ago)
this vs rx 580?
TriplosX (1 year ago)
With all the fucking crypto miners this card costs 380 euros now
kodian neutkens (1 year ago)
Its was a refurbished one
Il ClickBait (1 year ago)
WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT
uff ye (1 year ago)
kodian neutkens HOOOOW
kodian neutkens (1 year ago)
I bought this one for €160
Il ClickBait (1 year ago)
But in Greece you can find rx 470 at 200 euro (i take one in Rhodos this year)
Phi (1 year ago)
That's the most British username I've ever seen.
Sanady (1 year ago)
Nice, but now, which brand would you prefer? For example I really like MSI, but should I buy this one or MSI`s one? Which are better? Thank you.
blackmore official (1 year ago)
What do you think, this one, or Gigabyte AORUS 9G for the same price?
Blitz Central (1 year ago)
I only will ever use AMD for mys CPUS, never my GPUs!!
PatJuice (1 year ago)
thank you for giving 1080p fps charts
GP Patrol (1 year ago)
well no shit we need 2 pci slots, its 2 pci slot card wtf?
Aaron (1 year ago)
nice review dude +1 sub
Ls Omegaa (1 year ago)
I bought one of those today for $300 USD with rocket league free
Rumple Stiltskin (1 year ago)
This thing is so big it has it's own timezone! Almost a foot long....
Andaya Jezreel (1 year ago)
what is that size
Lakshay Narayan (1 year ago)
Hello
_S M I L E Y _ (1 year ago)
This graphics card. and I5 7600,The case is DeepCool Dukase v2 Clear Side. Is this good enough? will it bottleneck? will the gpu fit in the case?
Erke Yurdakul (1 year ago)
awesome video mate. subscribed
The Retro Gamer (1 year ago)
hi would this fit in my corsair 100r pc case
karim03 (1 year ago)
Will this pottleneck For g4560
A2 (1 year ago)
3:47 Why does everyone display their graphics cards like that? Doesn't the cause damage or create some sort of problem with continuous usage of that display method, later down the line?
Big George (1 year ago)
Hello, greetings from buenos aires argentina, what is the maximum temperature that arrives?
Madoc Jenkins (1 year ago)
Will it fit in a Aero Cool 800 case???????????????
todor92 (1 year ago)
Bought this before 5-6 months ..so far I'm pretty happy with it. If your other specs are good.. u can play EVERY game and not all but for sure most of them on Ultra (max) settings. Ofc. there are also 1070, 1080 and before few days 1080 Ti ..but if u cant spend more money on them, then 1060 will do the job! With this 3 fans.. damn u can cool your card so damn fast using asus software/app on your desktop. So at all.. if u can't get 1070 or 1080 then this is the right choise for sure! Recommend.
D.R DEAD (1 month ago)
which mobo are you using
Pitterpatter (6 months ago)
This card is more the sweet spot for ultra 1080p gaming, I'm sure 4k is do-able, but I am pretty sure 1070-1080ti is much more stable for 4k.
Xavi168 (6 months ago)
u get to completely turn off aa at 4k so i dont see why u couldn't do 4k with a 1060
Xavi168 (6 months ago)
gta v runs on medium-high 4k no problem if properly tuned. I have an i5 6500 which boosts only upto 3.6.. its insane an x60 card can do 4k...i wasn't even hoping to get 1440p out of this card.. no wonder nvidia is not releasing any new gpus
Ricky Velasquez (7 months ago)
Can u do 4k resolution on max settings
josue franco (1 year ago)
temperature max??
Team HomeTime (1 year ago)
just ordered this card. soo excited hope it fits😂
Gapeka (1 year ago)
What kind of processor did you use?
Matthew Claus (1 year ago)
So helpful. Looking to game at 1440p at around 60 fps. This has secured the GPU slot in my computer. Cheers
Benedict Voon (1 year ago)
still able to drive 4k high detail decently around 30 to 40 fps on my Acer X34.
Zakariyya Ullah (1 year ago)
I bought this a couple weeks ago, and I have to say that iv'e been very happy with it - but its all thanks to you're channel so thank you for the review!
Benedict Voon (1 year ago)
no worries, Asus GTX 1060 is using the Asus GTX 1070 circuit board.
jorge S.B (1 year ago)
what about the gtx 1060 6 gb dual oc?
Syuna (1 year ago)
Lmfao @ Rx 480 all the way at the bottom with the least performance 😂😂😂
XPLOIT (1 year ago)
Upgrading from a rx 460 to this but since it's my bday tomorrow from when I'm posting this but was about to get a 1050 to FTW
SgtAwesome97 (1 year ago)
I bought this card, but I have gotten it to stable 120mhz oc over base. Is that good, or not so good? This is my first PC, so I'm still learning this stuff lol I used the EVGA PrecisionX OC to do it, maybe thats my problem? My reasoning is that it seems simpler to use than the ASUS program.
DanMk2 (1 year ago)
I think im going fot this one ! Thanks for the review.
Too Cool Tech (1 year ago)
How did you get a hold of asus as a sponsor? We are looking to review their version of the 1080 Ti but are having trouble contacting them
Too Cool Tech (1 year ago)
The Tech Chap thanks a ton man, as well as a fast reply! We subscribed! We'll definitely look into it and see what we can make happen!
The Tech Chap (1 year ago)
Too Cool Tech they're not a sponsor, but I work with their PR to get review samples. send them a message on Twitter and ask for a contact email
Ashwin Nair (1 year ago)
watched 2 of your videos and subscribed! awesome n waiting for more
Jonathan John David (1 year ago)
I like long cards :)
turpi (1 year ago)
So what i should buy gtx 1060 or rx480?
A Bad Hacker (1 year ago)
but for the price of SLI 480, you can probs get a 1070 which is great for 1440p and maybe some 4k, i would go 1060 on this one, but the 480 is still a great card.
Xbox Master (1 year ago)
SolidRush YT im going 480 when i get enough. Your choice!
Xbox Master (1 year ago)
SolidRush YT the rx 480 you can go crossfire and double your proformance later

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.