HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Jarrod'sTech

MSI B450 Tomahawk Motherboard Review

295 ratings | 20837 views
AMD recently launched their new B450 chipset for the Ryzen 2 CPUs. I’ve got the MSI B450 Tomahawk motherboard here, so let’s take a look at all the features and help you decide if it’s worth buying for your PC. US Pricing: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813144189&cm_re=MSI_B450_Tomahawk-_-13-144-189-_-Product AU Pricing: https://www.pccasegear.com/products/43275 ► Subscribe for weekly tech videos! https://www.youtube.com/JarrodsTech?sub_confirmation=1 My camera gear: Panasonic GH5: http://amzn.to/2DRh2K7 Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 Lens: http://amzn.to/2DQHe7I Metabones Speedbooster: http://amzn.to/2mSDCtK Davis & Sanford Tripod: http://amzn.to/2FXkC6c Rode Videomic Pro: http://amzn.to/2FUDOBH --- Follow me --- Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/JarrodsTech Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jarrodstech We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (184)
katsablockos (3 days ago)
For ryzen 5 2600 will i have a problem with the stock cooler ? Does it fit ?
katsablockos (3 days ago)
Trick question Shall i invest into x470 or not ? I dont have high requirements
Jarrod'sTech (3 days ago)
It will be just fine. Any AMD Ryzen CPU and stock cooler will fit on any AM4 motherboard, they're designed to support it.
Topher Wise (5 days ago)
Am I hearing correctly that this only has ONE USB 3.1? That seems a little silly...with many cases having multiple USB 3.X connections on their header
Jarrod'sTech (5 days ago)
Yes just one internal header for front panel connections, but I think it allows you to use two ports. External though it has 2 on the back that are gen1, then a type-a and type-c gen2 on the back too.
shlomo braun (6 days ago)
can i use a Dolby headset with this motherboard, WITHOUT a sound card? i have the Ryzen 7 2700x with this. And also, for some reason i cant install the drivers for the asus dgx audio card. i went onto their website and it still doesnt work... so thats partly why im asking..
shlomo braun (6 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech thanks for trying. I hope someone has an answer
Jarrod'sTech (6 days ago)
Honestly not sure about that at all, sorry.
Skrty (7 days ago)
Can this support RYZEN 2600x?
Jarrod'sTech (7 days ago)
Yep, any current Ryzen 1 or 2 CPU will work
JAVIER alvarez (7 days ago)
yes
James - Fortnite (14 days ago)
The cpu cooler lights up??
Sven Wolf (13 days ago)
It's not with all AMD CPU coolers. The " Wraith Stealth" cooler, for example, has no lighting. This exact cooler is the "Wraith Spire". Check here: https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/cpu-cooler-solution
Jarrod'sTech (13 days ago)
+James - Fortnite Cheers! No problem at all
James - Fortnite (13 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech Getting one for Christmas nice review thanks for getting back to me
Jarrod'sTech (13 days ago)
Yeah the stock coolers that fine with AMD CPUs light up
Kean Martinic (15 days ago)
What type of fan is used in this video?
Jarrod'sTech (15 days ago)
Do you mean the CPU cooler? It's just the stock one that came with the CPU.
RavenAegis45 (16 days ago)
Seems like a well built mother board but with only 4+2 power phases seems like too little for good overclocking
Jarrod'sTech (16 days ago)
Probably enough I don't think you really need 8 pin unless you're going really hardcore lol
Nikolaj Oudman (17 days ago)
Will this work with a AMD ryzen 7 2700x?
Jarrod'sTech (13 days ago)
+I'm On Social Media It will probably fine, but that's just my best guess.
I'm On Social Media (13 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech, Is it OK to use this B450 Tomahawk for Ryzen 7 2700X using Stock Cooler and then adjust base clock speed to 4.0Ghz for all cores, and use 16GB @ 3200Mhz RAM? We all know the base clock speed of 2700X is 3.7Ghz. Your help and suggestion is highly appreciated. Thanks
Jarrod'sTech (17 days ago)
Yes, although not too sure how vrm will go under heavy overckocking
Isaiah Siewert (18 days ago)
What case is it in the video?
Jarrod'sTech (18 days ago)
It's the nzxt h700
furious destroyer (19 days ago)
this will work with a ryzen 7 1700x right?
Jarrod'sTech (19 days ago)
Cheers!
furious destroyer (19 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech tysm. great review.
Jarrod'sTech (19 days ago)
Yep
Felix S (19 days ago)
What is that case please tell me I love it
Jarrod'sTech (19 days ago)
No problem at all!
Felix S (19 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech thank you
Jarrod'sTech (19 days ago)
It's the NZXT H700 👌
tifius (22 days ago)
Excellent review mate, well done.
Jarrod'sTech (22 days ago)
Thanks!
tonkatoytruck (24 days ago)
This board looks like a great budget solution for overclocking an APU with its Vsoc heat sink. Too bad it loses one M.2 slot and Display port vs. the Mortar with no Vsoc cooling. Kind of an important distinction from the other motherboards with 4 + 2 phase designs or less.
Jarrod'sTech (23 days ago)
Yeah I think I'd prefer the mortar just for that extra m.2 slot
Wrublos212 (24 days ago)
Anyone know is that board have digital audio coaxial output option ? Thanks is advance
Wrublos212 (24 days ago)
Too bad, thx for reply
Jarrod'sTech (24 days ago)
No I don't think so, just 3.5mm jacks x6.
mechaart (25 days ago)
I have the MATX Pro M2 of this board
mechaart (25 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Its small. Its basically a Micro ATX with only 2 RAM dimm slots with 32 GB's of DDR 4 Modules. I am just waiting for the 1700x cpu to arrive. My nephew gave me a old GTX 650 1GB GDDR5 video card till I get a gpu for X-mas. https://pcpartpicker.com/list/dNtPcY https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Warranty-Power-Supply-100-N1-0750-L1/dp/B01LZ3WDQG/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1542246539&sr=8-4&keywords=EVGA+750 https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aigo-Aurora-3-IN-1-Kit-3-Pack-RGB-Halo-Ring-LED-120mm-Computer-Case-Cooling-Fan/352440627968?hash=item520f193300:g:3xUAAOSwETJbroll:rk:3:pf:0 This is basically my 3rd rig that I built for to use when Im in my brother in law's condo since my 2nd rig is my gaming rig I use at home. Im hoping to get a 1070 or a 1080 Amp mini or Amp version since I have an amp extreme in my own personal rig for 4k gaming.
Jarrod'sTech (25 days ago)
Cool, how's it going?
Elijah Antrobus (29 days ago)
Can i overclock with a ryzen 5 2600x and a gtx 1070ti
Jarrod'sTech (29 days ago)
Yes
Guys im gonna be building my first ever gaming pc and my budget is just under $900 Specs Ryzen 5 2600 Gtx 1060 6gb B450 tomahawk motherboard 500w powersupply Adata 128gb ssd 2x4 ballistix ram (I have a 1tb hard drive so thats why i never added it to the list) My case is an Corsair carbide spec 0-4 which is $50 Mouse is an Logitech g402 Keyboard is an Redragon k552
Jarrod'sTech (29 days ago)
That sounds pretty well rounded already I think, with the extra money I would see if it's at all possible to upgrade the GPU as that will give you the best improvement to gaming performance (given you've already got a decent CPU, dual channel memory, and an SSD).
All that together adds up to $808.89 which im happy with maybe you guys can suggest a few more items for my pc to add asthetics to the build like led lights? Conment below
PakosMédia (1 month ago)
Can somebody help me? I have r7 2700x with ASUS B350 and Kingston Predator 3200 Mhz, and i cant overlock it, memory works just on 2400mhz. What do you think, if i improve only the MOBO for this one, can it handle 3200Mhz? :) Thank you!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Hmm sounds like the memory may not be able to run at higher speeds on that board, a newer B450 board may help out, as memory support is improved in the 2nd generation, but yeah definitely worth checking or trying to find out that has your memory on the QVL if possible for highest chance of compatibility. Ideally where possible you always want to use memory sticks of the same speeds/voltages/brand etc.
PakosMédia (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech And yes, I tried xmp. If I try to oc, the pc will restart 3 times fast, and than go back to bios.
PakosMédia (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Actually i cant find that type of memory, on "Memory-QVL-for-AMD-Ryzen-2000-Series-Processors" - list, but it shows on the box, that that mobo can handle 3200 Mhz (With oc) I just asked. Coz cheaper for me to upgrade the mobo than the RAM. But what if i use both? I mean: I can find so much information on the internet on the sites, this mobo and r7 2700x works well that Gskill and Corsair... so I dont know what happens if i try to use it together with this Kingston RAM.Will it pull down the other one? I think this setup will not work properly :D Thank you anyway! :)
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Hmm what speeds does that board say it supports? Do you have the option to enable xmp in the bios?
john campos (1 month ago)
May i ask if this MOBO can last for years? Cuz I saw some comments on other videos that the gigabyte brand, specially there X470 boards just lasted for weeks and even just days.
Gagan Sharma (4 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech I have bought 2700x with g.Skill 8GB*2 3000 Hz RAM. Wont do too much OC, might try basic ones. Confused between x470 Taichi or B450 boards. Any suggestions? Will need M2 NVM SSD for booting.
john campos (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech I'm getting R5 2600 with fan deepcool gammaxx 400. Mg GPU would be Galax GTX 1060 6gb OC.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem! What CPU are you getting? If you're going 2600x/2700x and doing a high overclock I'd probably go the X470, otherwise I think the B450 is a pretty solid choice.
john campos (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech man, I'm gonna subscribing to your channel cuz you're the only youtuber who is replying to comments even though the video is weeks old. So what should I buy: B450 tomahawk, X470 gaming plus or X470 aorus ultra gaming?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yes I don't see why not. Previous Gigabyte boards have had some pretty bad reputations, though I've heard with the newer stuff they're turning that around.
rangestyle (1 month ago)
Can I expect to XFR/Precision boost or overclock a 2700x on a B450 Msi Tomahawk? Hoping for something like 4.3~ on 1-2 cores while gaming.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
You can enable precision boost overdrive to essentially overclock for you but still make use of XFR2, yes. Those speeds sound reasonable fora 2700x.
Rance (1 month ago)
What, how did he get the RGB to work with the LEDs?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Install the MSI mystic light sync software to control the effects
Hakmer Siregar (1 month ago)
Can you guys review MSi B450 A-Pro as compared to Tomahawk? I'm confused on picking between the two as the Tomahawk is 31 USD more than the A-Pro in my country.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem! Yeah fair enough.
Hakmer Siregar (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Thank you. Tomahawk is very expensive in my country (cheapest at147 USD) and A-Pro is at 115 USD. Gaming Plus is at 132 and it's hard to find reviews for both gaming plus and A-Pro. The pricing is a bit much for the most part that even a Ryzen 2600 is 200 USD here in Indonesia.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Honestly depends entirely on what MSI have and can send over, I'll find out!
Ian (1 month ago)
Just to clarify if you use the M.2 slot you wont be able to use any of the SATA connectors or just 2 of the 4 wont be usable. I know you said the 2 on the right but I was confused as to mean that the 2 pairs of connectors on the right side of the board or the 2 on the right side when the board is oriented as you showed.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Just 2 of them will not be in use, you can confirm in the manual as it goes into more detail about which configurations disable what.
Tony Bologna (1 month ago)
lol using a Ryzen 3 for this myself.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Heh a bit of an overkill board for that I guess, but at least you've got the option of upgrading in future with the same motherboard 👍
CHINEDU NDUAGUBA (1 month ago)
Please is the MSI B450 tomahawk MoBo compatible with the athlon x4 950 CPU
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No, it uses the AM4 socket, so only the new 200GE Athlon would be compatible.
Potato Man (1 month ago)
This or the MSI b450 gaming pro carbon ac?
Imran S Omer (1 month ago)
+Potato Man Power Delivery 5+2 Better VRM cooling BETTER RGB Better IO Come with Wifi AC and Bluetooth.
Potato Man (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech when you say a bit better what parts of it are better?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Pro carbon is probably a bit better based on my experience with other verisons of that range, but I haven't tested the B450 one so can't actually say for certain, either way both should be pretty decent.
Jefferson Lorenzo (1 month ago)
Im planning to buy ryzen 5 2400g without gpu. Should I buy b450 tomahawk or b450m mortar?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah I think Micro ATX case will be fine, of course they still vary in size / airflow, but they are typically designed with using discrete graphics in mind, so I don't think that should be an issue for a future upgrade path.
Jefferson Lorenzo (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech im also panning to buy gpu but not now since the prices of gpu are still very high. Another question. If i buy b450m mortar since I dont have gpu for now, is it okay to use a micro atx case? Or should i still need to buy standar atx case for better airflow?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I think either are probably overkill for an APU so what ever one has the features you like, eg tomahawk has one m.2 slot if I recall while mortar has two, so pick which ever gives you what you need.
Thor Invincible TO (2 months ago)
Will I be able to over clock my r5 2600 to 3.9 GHz with this mobo?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No worries!
Thor Invincible TO (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech no, m planning to get it. Thanks for your time
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
The board should be perfectly capable of allowing you to overclock to 3.9GHz. Do you already have the 2600? Can you run it at 3.9GHz? If so all good. I haven't tested a 2600 so I don't know what speed a typical overclock looks like. If you're going to buy the CPU expecting a 3.9GHz overclock then I just wanted to note it will vary based on the CPU.
Thor Invincible TO (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech what do you mean? Kindly explain
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Should be fine in terms of the board, would depend more on whether or not you can get your 2600 to that speed I think.
Ed Jackson (2 months ago)
Wait with front panel USB 3.0 will I only be able to access one of my Front Panel USB ports?
Topher Wise (5 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech sorry for reasking this...I should have read further down before asking. Just so I am sure I am understanding: This (1) USB connection on the MB can serve multiple USB 3.1 ports on the case front header?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No, although the board has one front panel header I think two USB ports use that connection. For example you night have 2x USB slots in the front of your case that connect with one wire, that should be fine
Vortex (2 months ago)
tomahawk or gaming plus?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Haven't tested gaming plus myself but personally I prefer the design of this one 😛 looks count for something once all your basic key features are satisfied.
AXR Lipee Jr (2 months ago)
does this compatible also to ryzen 5 2400g?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah, any Ryzen gen 1 or 2 CPU will work fine.
Agnes Delos Reyes (2 months ago)
yes, all of ryzen cpu are compatible
Bernie Fajardo (2 months ago)
nice review! I think I'm getting this one for my upgrade. nice feats and not to mention the accent is not red-black ;D.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Thanks! Nice, hope you like it 😁 haha yeah good to not have the classic red and black theme!
fahad (2 months ago)
What about the b450 gaming plus?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Sure probably pretty decent for that.
fahad (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech im getting a ryzen 2600 16 gb ram 3000 1070 ti The b450 tomahawk is not available in my country should i get b450 Gaming plus ?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Not sure, haven't had it for testing, looks ok though.
Jakub. M (2 months ago)
This or ASUs B350-f gaming?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I'd get pretty much any B450 over a B350 for the better memory support.
naturalthalent1 (2 months ago)
What do you thing above this msi motherboard and R52600x? i want to oc to 4.2ghz...4+2 VRM is enough?.
Imran S Omer (1 month ago)
B450 Pro Carbon Can Handle Ryzen 7 2700X with 4.2Ghz, No issue no Thermal Throttling.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No problem! I think that's a decent board, I used one recently in my AMD 2700 vs 2700X video, although it was borrowed for the purposes of testing the AMD CPUs so I didn't have time to do a full review video unfortunately!
naturalthalent1 (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech mmm ok. Then i aim to gigabyte x470 ultra gaming. Thanks!
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Not really sure to be honest, probably, depends on if you're CPU is able to reach 4.2GHz too though, I'd probably be looking for an X470 board for an overclock like that with better VRM.
ANIMA GOSPEL (2 months ago)
How much MHz does this RAM have?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It depends on the memory that you install into the board. The board supports speeds of 1866/ 2133/ 2400/ 2667/2667/ 2800/ 2933/ 3000/ 3066/ 3200/ 3466 though.
Brandon Keffer (2 months ago)
I am extremely satisfied with my Tomahawk B450. I too am running 4.0GHz on all cores, but with a 1600x, with 16GB RAM at 3000mhz cl16. I have had zero issues with it as well.
john campos (1 month ago)
+Brandon Keffer oh. Nice nice
Brandon Keffer (1 month ago)
+john campos I've been using it for about a month now.
john campos (1 month ago)
How long have you been using it?
Brandon Keffer (1 month ago)
Additionally, I can confirm that MSI Mystic Light software does recognize and control Corsair's Vengeance RGB RAM lighting effects.
Brandon Keffer (1 month ago)
Sadly, no. The B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC from MSI does though.
SUWHI (2 months ago)
Systeam ? thx :3
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Hmm??
vBDKv (2 months ago)
I'm torn between this and the Asus Strix B450.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Hmm haven't personally used any ASUS boards so don't really know they compare.
jean (2 months ago)
your are exellent
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Cheers 👌
Omar Ehab (2 months ago)
If I use the M.2 slot, Which SATA Ports will be available and at what speeds?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Hmm don't currently have any Asrock contacts, I'll find out about the MSI one, although a little busy for the next little bit, MSI are sending me RTX cards 😎 so that will be the priority for a bit.
Omar Ehab (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Great thanks! Can you please make a review about the MSI X470 Gaming Plus and the Asrock X470 Master? I really don't know which motherboard should I get from these two or from the B450 Tomahawk and Mortar
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Two of the SATA ports become unavailable, I mention it in the video, otherwise check the manual for full details on the MSI website
Thurman -_- Merman (3 months ago)
So this motherboard can only support DDR4 2666 RAM?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem! Sorry if it wasn't clear, I was just trying to say that 2666 is supported prior to overclocking/modifying it.
Thurman -_- Merman (3 months ago)
Jarrod’sTech oh ok thanks for clearing it up!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No, as mentioned it goes up to 3466 once you overclock the memory / apply XMP profiles.
Robert (3 months ago)
I OWN THIS MOTHERBOARD, ITS ONE OF THE BEST
furious destroyer (19 days ago)
would it work with the ryzen 7 1700x?
Robert (1 month ago)
john campos Few months.
john campos (1 month ago)
How long you have been using it?
Basten Gerretsen (2 months ago)
nope b450 is made for 2nd gen but u can use 1st gen too on it
Baator (2 months ago)
+iMurk903 No, you don't have to do anything, it will work out of the box.
alanpk0 (3 months ago)
Thanks for saying that the LEDs can be easily turned off. And about the easy-to-use bios update. It made my mind about the purchase. One of the most informative reviews around.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem at all, cheers!
Brandon Kissol (3 months ago)
Jarrod pls make a review of the ASUS ROG Strix SCAR II and compare it with the Zephyrus M with both GTX1070 because that variant of those two laptops are similarly priced.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Hey just wanted to give you an update and let you know I've got the Scar II here at the moment for testing, so will have a few videos on it coming! Comparison still on the plan afterwards 👍
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Hopefully, I've been trying to get it for a few months now. Just waiting for it to be available, I think all the review units are busy with other reviews still.
David Matta (3 months ago)
can you post 300helios 8th gen. review i need to compare it with g5 i want to order laptop as fast as i can
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem!
David Matta (3 months ago)
thx u are the best
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I do have a video showing gaming performance on the 4th though, and I do also plan on doing a comparison video against the G5 too.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I'm recording it at the moment then still need to do all the filming, it's not done yet, it's scheduled to be published on the 16th of September at the moment.
Zoo logico (3 months ago)
Jarrod what's your opinion on the Eluktronics Mech-15 G2?? Haven't found that much info but the specs looks amazing and have heard Eluktronics are pretty well build and have a great finish, for the price it just seems like the best you can get. Thanks and have a great day!!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
It looks interesting but I don't personally have any experience with it. I'd be concerned about thermal throttling with the 8750H as the laptop looks to be on the thinner side.
Gautam Diwan (3 months ago)
Really nice video Jarrod :) On a sidenote, which lighting software do you think is in descending order from best to worst (I don't care about asrock lol)
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Cheers! To be honest I haven't actually used any outside of MSI and ASUS yet, so I can only say that I prefer MSI's software over the ASUS one based on my experience so far.
mike fox (3 months ago)
My old AMD A88X motherboard has 8 sata, 4 seems low.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
6 seems to be pretty standard on most recent boards from what I've seen, in any case I don't use any so that's 6 more than I need 😛
How can someone call this a "review" if they are just, and nothing more, reading the specs of the Motherboard a nothing more? Don't get me wrong, this a "good" critic, but I heard no review about the MB itself, the only things you added are some of your results but without showing how you achieved, your methodology and so on: 1. I updated the bios(around 4:00) 2. That you used RAM at 3466 3. That you managed to put his 2700 at 4.0 GHz 3.5 Telling that you did not go any further in it with extra testing 4. And an image from a thermal camera
Topher Wise (5 days ago)
This IS a review, NOT a critic. He is reviewing the products' attributes/ specs, not critically analyzing them giving the pros and cons. He is not injecting his personal and thereby subjective opinion (which the internet i so rife with) <---see what I did there?
Ian (1 month ago)
I actually found this review more helpful than many others about this board.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Thanks for the feedback, while I can see why that information would be useful you have to admit for most people looking for a board they probably wouldn't be interested, I don't think I'm interested anyway making detailed videos going through BIOS options in any case, I'd probably need some kind of capture card to record that properly though. As for the rest as mentioned I have a lot to learn about VRM and the specifics, so I don't talk about what I don't understand in depth. I am interested in learning more though.
I personally met Buildzoid, and I love his work(I work with one of the "OC webinar" even though I do not know the exact name of the webinar) Things that, in my opinion, need to be told are this -) VRM setup, if it's really how it is displayed and what kind of VRM they are using(for example, most of the time the producers tell that it's a 20(number) VRM setup when they are just number/2 VRM with a doubler and it's really different) -) BIOS, you will spend so much time in it(to be honest is the only way you speak with it) you have to tell if it's well-made bios and so on(does it have a good support for feature needed for MoBo such as postcode, more bios, etc.? -) VRM cooling and other cooling capacities: most of the boards suck at cooling your VRM and chipset, people have to know it Yes, I proceed to write down a list of stuff that, sadly, had one problem, you have not shown your testing nor its methodology. Now, obv I can write down and show(from HWinfo e.g.) that my CPU runs at x.xx GHz and RAM at x.xxx GHz, but if I do not show how I achieved them what's the point? ;) For the rest, the video is well made -) The voice is good -) The music is not too loud(and trust, not all regulate in a good way music, sounds and voices) -) The quality is good and the work on it(in terms of video making) it's good too Keep the work good :)
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Your comment might be more useful if you included what you thought it was missing and what you wanted to see, that way I could improve it in the future 😉 I did like how you said nothing more was done then proceeded to list a bunch of stuff though 😁 to be fair it's a board, there's only so much you can discuss without knowing finer details about electronics, which I do not, and honestly 95% of people searching for one probably would not understand anyway - there are already far better channels for that content, like Buildzoid's actually hardcore overclocking channel, I recommend it if you want more in depth details: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrwObTfqv8u1KO7Fgk-FXHQ
Carlos Motta (3 months ago)
Excellent review, my friend. Hell yeah, this MOBO looks damn solid. I have to praise you for the impeccably clean build. Couldn't expect less from the methodical Jarrod.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Thanks Carlos!
Matt Christie (3 months ago)
I do like the idea of the BIOS flashback. Can even be done without a CPU, on most boards. Good shot you got there of the I/O shield. Was good to see the BIOS flashback button is recessed a little, preventing accidental use. Buildzoid had a look at the B450's as well. And of course it was mainly focused on the VRM's! Definitely worth a look though. Also did another interesting video about sub-$150 boards (Link below) I just had a look at the board on NewEgg.com from your link. $99 USD. Then I went to the NewEgg.ca. $149 CAD. So I feel your pain, when you have to pay $189 AUD! Always a little depressing when you have to multiply the cost by 1.5 - 2! LOL! Nice review Jarrod. And great production as always! Hope to see more hardware reviews and testing. And almost at 30K subs! Good for you bud! Have a great day! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pq0MLtjFS1A
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Thanks! A few more various hardware videos on the way 😎 Yeah an accidental press would be difficult, I had to get in with my finger nail to press it 😛 Nice! I've watched some of his videos, he really knows his stuff.
Space Cow#303 (3 months ago)
I wish I could afford a gaming pc with Gtx 1060
Gul Dukat (3 months ago)
Gaming should be low on your priority list then.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Just got to save up!
Mr. Dynamite (3 months ago)
I actually like your PC parts reviews more
Mr. Dynamite (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech that's great
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
That's fortunate, because there are a few more on the way 😛
stryderx1 (3 months ago)
Again nice review, thanks! I think MSI could put 2 pcie in this one but it seems they think you have to use usb Wifi adapter. I still have old Asus Xonar Dx sound card I would use with that motherboard.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Thanks! It's got a few slots, I guess just depends which ones you need to use.
big fam (3 months ago)
DESKTOP YESS OMG I LOVE IT
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Yep!
big fam (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech U are Aussie right
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
WOOOOO
Space Cow#303 (3 months ago)
Helloooooooo
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Hi!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.