HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Jarrod'sTech

MSI B450 Tomahawk Motherboard Review

594 ratings | 45830 views
AMD recently launched their new B450 chipset for the Ryzen 2 CPUs. I’ve got the MSI B450 Tomahawk motherboard here, so let’s take a look at all the features and help you decide if it’s worth buying for your PC. US Pricing: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813144189&cm_re=MSI_B450_Tomahawk-_-13-144-189-_-Product AU Pricing: https://www.pccasegear.com/products/43275 ► Subscribe for weekly tech videos! https://www.youtube.com/JarrodsTech?sub_confirmation=1 My camera gear: Panasonic GH5: http://amzn.to/2DRh2K7 Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 Lens: http://amzn.to/2DQHe7I Metabones Speedbooster: http://amzn.to/2mSDCtK Davis & Sanford Tripod: http://amzn.to/2FXkC6c Rode Videomic Pro: http://amzn.to/2FUDOBH --- Follow me --- Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/JarrodsTech Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jarrodstech We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (387)
Hans Boss (1 day ago)
Hey, i want to build a system with this MoBo: Ryzen 7 1800X (Was as cheap as 2600) 1080 Ti Gaming X (Got it cheap as well :D) 16 GB (2x8) Corsair Vengeance (3000 MHz) 500 W be quiet Pure Power 11 be quiet Shadow Rock 2 500 GB MX 500 What do you think.. is this Motherboard ok for that system.. and is that system unbalanced or something?
Jarrod'sTech (1 day ago)
Sounds reasonable to me! Yeah should be fine for that.
yh patel 33 (2 days ago)
Does it support 2600x ?
Jarrod'sTech (2 days ago)
Yes, any current Ryzen CPU will work.
Der Coole Larry (6 days ago)
is the sound good?
Jarrod'sTech (5 days ago)
I didn't test it, that's not something I try as I feel like I'm not very good at determining differences, everything sounds basically the same to me.
Darko Baric (6 days ago)
cann you tell me the name of the case ty
Jarrod'sTech (6 days ago)
It's the NZXT H700
Taylor Mulcahy (7 days ago)
For some reason its not picking up my harddrives so cant install windows... and therefor get into the computer at all
Taylor Mulcahy (7 days ago)
For the hdd i can. Ssd i cant
Jarrod'sTech (7 days ago)
The drives don't show in the BIOS at all? Are they definitely getting power from the power supply? Can you hear them spinning up / feel the vibration when powering on?
Physiology Shark (7 days ago)
Is it compatible with : - AMD Ryzen 5 2600 - Samsung 8 GB RAM DDR4 (2400MHz) - Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro Plus 8 GB DDR5 Special Edition - Samsung B850 Pro Sata 3 256 GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 35 1 TB Hardisk - Be Quiet System Power U9 500W 80 Plus
Jarrod'sTech (7 days ago)
Yes should be fine, you could check the QVL for your specific model of memory to see if it's been tested.
Wtfagantlaman (9 days ago)
how many fan's can you use with this mainboard?
Wtfagantlaman (8 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Thanks!! (:
Jarrod'sTech (8 days ago)
There are 6 fan headers, as mentioned.
Grant Hudson (10 days ago)
Slowly building my second pc I have this mobo on the way, already have my ryzen 5 2600.
Grant Hudson (8 days ago)
Thats for the main components after every gtg ill be getting a water cooler with a 240mm fan and get some extra 120mm fan. The pc case im getting have 2 built in fans front and back. Thats it man have a good one. Will be upgrading in the near future from mu build.
Grant Hudson (8 days ago)
+Juan Hernandez well after the tomahawk arrives next is my. 550 power supply then the hyper fury x 1x8 ram 3000mhz. I cant find a 2x8 for that so I'lI be purchasing 2 of those. For my boot drive im getting a 250gb ssd, and a 1tb hdd for storage.
Juan Hernandez (8 days ago)
@Grant Hudson sup bro, I'm getting ready to start buying the parts for my first pc build and I'm actually using the same cpu and mobo. I was wondering how the rest of your build looks like and curious what gpu your going with?
Jarrod'sTech (9 days ago)
Nice! Hope the build goes well 😃
Alle HD (12 days ago)
Ok i want to build a gaming pc lez me know your thougts. Ryzen 7 2700x Msi b450 tomahawk Msi rtx 2080 ventus 2x samsung evo 860 500gb cuz i already had them Be quiet pure power 11 600w cm Gskill aegis 16gb 3000mhz Fractal design meshify c
Alle HD (11 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech sorry have 1 question... i have a gtx 1050 2gb with an amd fx 8320e do u think it will run gta5 with low settings?
Alle HD (11 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech and if i would buy an intel cpu i would need a cooler for it which would be like 90€ (AIO)
Jarrod'sTech (11 days ago)
Sounds pretty decent to me! I imagine some people will say you need a high end intel CPU for the 2080 but I think the 2700X is a great option especially if you need more cores without going to 9700k/9900k money.
Dragyn Fyng (13 days ago)
Thanks so much man, running the same cpu and was wondering what mobo to use it with, where can I find a ram compatibility list? Do you know if Trident Zs will fit into this?
Jarrod'sTech (13 days ago)
No problem!
Dragyn Fyng (13 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Thanks a lot!
Jarrod'sTech (13 days ago)
You can look at the product page, there will be a support tab or similar and you should be able to find the QVL for supported memory, you can look at the specific model numbers of memory to see what they have tested with if you want confirmation that the memory is known to work well with the board. https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450-TOMAHAWK#support-mem-14
Jayson (14 days ago)
How many fan headers does this mb have?
Jayson (14 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech thanks for replying so quickly on a non recent video, much appreciated
Jarrod'sTech (14 days ago)
No problem! good luck with the build 👍
Jayson (14 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech ok thank you, building a pc and the case I’m choosing supports 6 fans, and I want great airflow so now I don’t need fan splitters.
Jarrod'sTech (14 days ago)
6, I list them all out in the video, the manual on the MSI website also documents them.
Gerek (14 days ago)
Is this cooler in video stock 2700x cooler?
Gerek (14 days ago)
Is fortis 3 enough?
Jarrod'sTech (14 days ago)
I've found the stock cooler to be pretty decent, even with an overclock. Maybe if you live in a hot environment or want to run a good overclock for an extended period it'd be worth it.
Gerek (14 days ago)
Okay, thanks. Should i buy additional cooler to r72700x?
Jarrod'sTech (14 days ago)
Nah it's the one with the 2700, the 2700X is a bit bigger and more lighting.
Nehoy Meɴoy (14 days ago)
Saved up to build my first gaming rig. Wish me luck and let me know how well you'll think it'll perform(still waiting on parts, specifically the RAM. Curse you Newegg for having DHL handle that package): AMD - Ryzen 5 2600 3.4 GHz 6-Core Processor MSI - B450 TOMAHAWK ATX AM4 Motherboard G.Skill - Aegis 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory Crucial - MX500 500 GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive XFX - Radeon RX 580 8 GB GTS Black Edition OC+ Video Card Phanteks - Eclipse P300 Tempered Glass (Black) ATX Mid Tower EVGA - SuperNOVA G2 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Juan Hernandez (7 days ago)
@Nehoy Menoy sup bro, I'm a first time pc builder and I'm ready to start buying my parts and it's pretty much similar to your build except I was going with the red dragon rx 580 8gb but after reading about your gpu it seems maybe I should go your route...building a rig can be nerve wracking lol. How much did you spend on your rig if you dont mind me asking?
Stefano Rossoni (8 days ago)
+Nehoy Meɴoy Hey thank you so much for your answer. After hours of searching, I think I'll buy the Tomahawk, I was lookin for other MOB like the ASUS ROG Strix B450-F but in a video comparison says that these have an elevate VMR temp... so Finally decided for the best price/quality MOB. For now Im not planning in OC until I have a good watercooling. And I think the Ryzen 5 2600 works well in straming so... I'll get the same build as yours, again thank you so much!
Nehoy Meɴoy (8 days ago)
+Stefano Rossoni UPDATE: I used Heaven Benchmark with the Extreme test and averaged 70FPS.
Nehoy Meɴoy (8 days ago)
​ @Stefano Rossoni It's okay, your English is better than most Americans... Haha. B450 Tomahawk works well. Really well, especially for the price it's going for, it's a bargain. I haven't had any issues. I put the PC together and it turned on first try. I got my AMD Ryzen 5 from Amazon for a discount under listing "AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Processor with Wraith Stealth Cooler - YD2600BBAFBOX" and it runs great for its price. I'm not trying to overclock my rig, I just wanted it to play today's modern games well and this processor and graphics card does that and more. If I ever do decide to overclock, this rig could do just that. Btw, buying the Ryzen 5 and Radeon RX 580 granted me free keys for The Division 2 and Resident Evil 2. I've been playing the remake Resident Evil 2 at MAX 1080P and have seen not one bit of lag, smooth as butt cheeks. The AMD Ryzen 5 2600, so far, has reached 40% max of usage when monitoring it while playing Subnautica 1080P MAX settings while also multi-tasking through other installed programs on my computer. My GPU handles Subnautica MAX at 1080P no problem, whereas my laptop with the mobile GTX 1060 could not handle much, for some reason even with latest drivers I still had to tweak Subnautica's settings to run decent and even then it'd spike occasionally. I haven't had the chance to properly benchmark my computer yet, though, there's still tests I plan on doing. The Radeon RX 580 Black Edition that I have was discounted at the time and it runs better than my GTX1060 that's in my Apache Pro, granted that's a laptop , it outperforms it in every way... unsurprisingly. And this rig I built myself costs 500$ cheaper than the Apache Pro laptop. As for the RAM, I only have 16GB of RAM. Honestly, if you didn't plan on multi-tasking and just gaming, 8GB of RAM would be fine but 16GB would ensure you could game and multi-task. The Tomahawk doesn't hinder the ability of random memory being accessed, everything runs smooth. The B450's restrictions do not hinder it from becoming a great rig. BTW, I got my Windows 10 Pro buying a 5$ key off EBAY. So, it's all your decision. If the Radeon RX580 would be cheaper for you to buy in your country than the GTX 1060, I definitely recommend the RX580. Like you said, the benchmarks for both graphics cards are too close for it to matter. The mobile version of the 1060 is in my laptop, it should perform so much better as a full sized card inside a desktop. Let me know if you have any more questions, I'll try to answer them the best I can.
Mythic Noit (9 days ago)
Stefano Rossoni c
adrian s (14 days ago)
Amd ryzen 2600x Msi b450 tomahawk Corsair vegance lpx 2666 2x8gb Adata 128gb ssd 1tb segate berrecuda Radon Rx 56 power color red dragon Evga bq 500 semi modular 500 watts Any thoughts?
Jarrod'sTech (14 days ago)
Sounds like a pretty well rounded setup to me!
Fahrul Rosy (17 days ago)
love your case. whats the name?
Jarrod'sTech (16 days ago)
It's the NZXT H700
RiZe_ Esketit (20 days ago)
I need some help idk why this mobo is showing that the cpu is not detected( with the EZ led debug ) and I've tried many different things and at this point I gonna have to buy a b350 soo idk if someone knows how to fix this please let me know thank u.
Jarrod'sTech (19 days ago)
Have you tried reseating the CPU? Take a close look into the socket for bent pins
frodo040 (26 days ago)
Hi guyz Corsair 550 watt Msi GTX 1050 ti 4gb+ msi gt 730 4 gb vram HDD Seagate Barracuda 2TB SSD MX500 500 gb M.2 Msi B450 gaming plus AMD b450 4×4 3000mhz AMD RYZEN 1600x Artic MX4 2019 (4g) Silentium PC Regnum RG4T Pure Black TG Silentium PC Fera 3 he1224 V2 It's oookay ? xD ... For 1080p gaming ?
Jarrod'sTech (24 days ago)
Do you mean using both cards at once? I don't think that will be possible.
frodo040 (25 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech I have 2 graphic cards i Think GTX 1050 TI 4GB + gt 730 4gb Is good deal because 2 graphic Cards ... Yeah i know the same price Are GTX 1060 6 GB ... But i have those cards in home ... And i don't want sell thi's cards because i love thi's cards xD ... But thanks for Backup ...
Jarrod'sTech (26 days ago)
Yeah should be up to it, 1050 Ti is a good mid range option for 1080p games at medium settings some games are fine with high
Zx VisioN (26 days ago)
Do you still need wifi adapter for this mobo?
Jarrod'sTech (26 days ago)
Yes, it doesn't have one built in.
FlyingMeta (28 days ago)
I have 2600x already bought on a great deal, will this be the best to take advantage of "x" as it has no voffset?
Jarrod'sTech (27 days ago)
I'm honestly not sure about that, sorry. 2600x will be fine with this in terms of overclocking though I believe.
Joshua (30 days ago)
Ryzen 5 2400g Msi B450 Tamahawk Corsair 8x2 3000mhz Tx650 psu Samsung 860 evo 250 Seagate 2tb 7200rpm Case-master box 5 rgb Will this setup is good for normal 1080p gaming? Any suggestions!
Joshua (19 days ago)
+Nediljko Grgić 😊👍
Nediljko Grgić (19 days ago)
Joshua No problem be free to ask anything about pc :)
Joshua (19 days ago)
+Nediljko Grgić oh Thanks for your suggestion I'll change the case
Nediljko Grgić (19 days ago)
Joshua Dont buy it bro it seems nice outside with all those rgb fans but from inside is nothing but worthless shit because case is made from cheap metal and the biggest problem its poor air flow whats really important and there is not so much space in the case to upgrade it I would rether recommend you NZXT H500 (black/red) pc case it looks dangerous although it doesn’t have any rgb fans installed but you can buy few rgb fans they are not expensive I think 3 decent rgb fans are around 40$-50$ not more but most important case has great air flow for the price and it also has much space to upgrade even if it’s mid tower but it’s perfectly made and yeah only one bad thing on NZXT it doesn’t have optical drive but today person don’t need optical drive all games are on steam or you need to buy key or download it so it want make any gaming problem and also today you can watch movies on Netflix or on Amazon so it’s really not needed
Joshua (30 days ago)
Final question what do you think about the case cooler maser master box 5 rgb
Aragorn Telcontar (1 month ago)
So I purchased this motherboard and a AMD Ryzen 5 2600 with Wraith Stealth Cooler, has anyone built this? I read that the cooler might be too big and block where the RAM plugs in. Just curious if anyone knows anything about this or if I read some misinformation. Thanks!
Aragorn Telcontar (26 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Hey! Hooked it all up and confirmed no issue with my Wraith Cooler! oh yea!!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Cheers, welcome to the channel! Look forward to hearing your confirmation :)
Aragorn Telcontar (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech also thanks for the fast response, subbed!
Aragorn Telcontar (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Thats a relief to hear, thank you! It will be a couple weeks when I finish the build but ill post a confirmation that it doesnt block anything so if anyone else read that information they can know!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It should be designed such that the AMD coolers don't cover the slots
9z chanel (1 month ago)
It is for any ryzen gen or not
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem!
9z chanel (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech thanks bro
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yes, will work with current Ryzen gen 1 or 2, and next gen after a BIOS update as it should be supported.
Sid Haan (1 month ago)
Can it support 2 graphic card ?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
The spec sheet says that Crossfire is supported, but doesn't mention SLI.
kiwi mrndh (1 month ago)
Dose it work on amd5
Ilias Goh (1 month ago)
Do u mean amd ryzen 5 2600
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
What is amd5?
Yash Sawant (1 month ago)
Can i use 4 sticks of 2133mhz ?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yes. The supported memory speeds are listed here: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450-TOMAHAWK/Specification 2133 is there.
Manuel-KLG (1 month ago)
Hello guys got a question for you. I'm gonna build a gaming PC in March and I will be using this motherboard with a ryzen 5 2600 and G.Skill Trident-Z 16gb 3200mhz ram.. Will my ram run at 3200mhz without overclocking it? Or shall I buy 2666mhz of ram? I will gladly appreciate any replies. Thank you !
James - Fortnite (1 month ago)
Hi can you send me a link to where I can get the rgb lights for my motherboard
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Like light strips, or the software to control the board
Gthemaniac (1 month ago)
just ordered one for my first am4 build
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Sweet! Hope it goes well 👍
Seymour (1 month ago)
For a ryzen 5 2600 and rx 580 should I get this motherboard or another?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah that would work fine
Watermelon (1 month ago)
would this motherboard work with a ryzen 7 2700x?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem!
Watermelon (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Thank you for replying so quickly!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yes
Combo Star (1 month ago)
Would this board be a good fit for a ryzen 3 2200g and rx 580/570 or would it be a bit much?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Should work perfectly fine no problems 👍
Strikez (1 month ago)
It's funny because on the box it says, go ahead, review me
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
lol
Kwnstantinos Alexiou (1 month ago)
Hey guys I wanna buy this mobo with ryzen5 2600x but I already have a GPU an asus 1050ti 4 gb. .is it bad if I go with msi mobo and asus gpu?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No it won't matter, that's perfectly fine, no problem at all!
Sol van den boogaard (1 month ago)
does this board have built in wifi and bluetooth?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem!
Sol van den boogaard (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech oh, thank you im planning my first build so thats why i was wondering.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Cheers, welcome to the channel! Bluetooth generally is part of the WiFi card, so not part of the board either unfortunately.
Sol van den boogaard (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech man, your instant reply on a super old video just got you a sub, what about the bluetooth?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Nah it doesn't unfortunately, you'd need a PCIe WiFi card, or look at a model like the Carbon AC which has it built in.
Bryan Flores (1 month ago)
"and see what fetures it has to waffa"
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I know, I just didn't know what to reply with 😅
Bryan Flores (1 month ago)
I'm not trying to be mean. Good video by the way it really did help me decide
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
WAFFAFAFAFFAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
BuddySyst3m (1 month ago)
bought this for myself for christmas, just waiting for the RAM to show up! I'm so pumped to have a decent board.
BuddySyst3m (30 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech it's running like a dream (a really fast dream!) I can play overwatch in 1920x1200 at about 50fps on high, 60+ on low , so for streaming that's great! It also handles the voltage fantastically and the bios were easy peasy to set up. Great board!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Sweet! Let me know how the build goes 😁
Enter Posthuman (1 month ago)
what casing is that? i wanna know the exact model. thx
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It's the NZXT H700.
Kai g (1 month ago)
What graphic card do you use?
DALLAVID (1 month ago)
m s im not sure but there is a new amd gpu coming in January which will be the top gpu so maybe you should wait for that but im choosing rx 570 because it does what i need it to do and i dont need it for anything else if you want to play top games requiring top gpus then probably you should
m s (1 month ago)
+DALLAVID ty bud. Do you reckon the vega 56 sapphire will fit in my build?
DALLAVID (1 month ago)
+m s There is an MSI 580 if it is better for your theme.
DALLAVID (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Can you tell me if the parts in my build are decent for an 800€ build Case: NZXT S340 Elite - €97 Motherboard: MSI B450 Tomahawk - €109 GPU: MSI RX570 Armor OC - €170 CPU: Ryzen 5 2600 - €158 RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x8 3000mhz - €130 PSU: Corsair 400w - €50 SSD: Kingston 120GB - €22 HDD: WD Blue 1TB - €46 Fans included with case Monitor: Acer KG241 (75Hz) I'm gonna be buying these parts probably tomorrow so can you reply if possible?
m s (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech ok, thanks alot mate
Adam ODonnell (1 month ago)
Great video!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Thanks!
anoname (1 month ago)
Why do you say it supports up to 2666MHz RAM but then you say it can do 3466Mhz?
DALLAVID (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech ok thx for The reply
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
+DALLAVID Nah just different ways of achieving higher speeds.
DALLAVID (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech are jedec and A xmp OC MODE different types of ram?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem! Sorry if it was confusing I'll try be more clear next time.
anoname (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech okay thank you
Cool dude (1 month ago)
Um... should i be woried? I just bought msi b450 tomahawk, and theres some problems..... first of all i didnt get the manual with it. It came in a different plastic bag. And i can’t put the amd ryzen 5 2600 coller with amd logo next to the big tomahawk heatsink, because it doeasnt fit.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
A bit weird about the manual, where did you buy it? The board should be designed to support the AMD stock coolers, do you have a picture of the issue?
David Macias (1 month ago)
i boguth a 2700x and 1080ti will this work good?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Hmm should be ok, although for that high end hardware might as well look at an X470 board and try get a good overclock.
Love Angel (1 month ago)
my upcoming pc will include this MB
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Nice one! Hope the build goes well 👍
Padildo (1 month ago)
Does anyone know if this mobo is compatible with VR?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem!
Padildo (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech I just realized this 2 mins ago. Thank you for taking the time to reply
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It shouldn't be a factor, that would depend more on the specs you install onto it.
Jmoozy (1 month ago)
i just bought a b350 and 2600 and getting no signal is that because i need a 1st gen to update bios
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Oh 😰 might be able to take the board to a local computer repair place and ask to borrow a gen 1 CPU for the update. Otherwise are you connecting your monitor to the motherboard, or a graphics card in the PCIe slot? If you're using the motherboard you will get no signal as the CPU doesn't have graphics like an APU.
Bruno Verdugo Garcia (1 month ago)
Please send me the link to download the Mystic Light for this motherboard!! <3
Bruno Verdugo Garcia (1 month ago)
i not found, please you can send me the link of mystic light used in the video? or the new mystic light
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450-TOMAHAWK#down-driver&Win10%2064
HiVOltzzz (1 month ago)
Does the board come with WiFi capability’s
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
For a desktop PC, unfortunately not, I'm only familiar with laptop models, pretty much anything that supports 802.11ac should be modern and not that expensive.
HiVOltzzz (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech do you have any recommendations for WiFi cards
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No, you'll have to install a WiFi card.
Richard van Eck (1 month ago)
Will this Mobo work at 3000 MhZ with ''CMK16GX4M2B3000C15'' Corsair 16 GB DDR4-3000
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem!
Richard van Eck (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech thanks for the reply, I have been looking for it but its rather confusing to me. i think it would be oke.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Probably, but you can check the QVL to see if they have tested with that specific model: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450-TOMAHAWK#support-mem-14 It does appear to be listed for Ryzen 2 CPUs.
Jessie Kay (1 month ago)
Just bought it today.. I dont have a gpu yet and it doesnt recognize the hdmi that came with the mobo to tv or monitor. Any suggestions sir? From Philippines. Thank You in advance...
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
What CPU are you using? You can only use the motherboard display outputs if you have an AMD Ryzen APU like the 2200g, as the APUs have graphics built in, the other CPUs do not.
ScravleTv (1 month ago)
Dose this motherboard have a dedicated power so i can see if my pc post?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
+ScravleTv Oh like a physical power button that you can press on the board to turn it on? No this one did not have that.
ScravleTv (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Like you know the asus vii hero has a dedicated 'start' odn the board so you can test if it post out of the case
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Sorry I'm not sure what you mean, what do you mean by dedicated power?
Shalom ダミー (1 month ago)
Do I have to worry about any RAM/Memory Compatibility?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Generally you'll probably be ok with any memory, but I suggest buying based on the QVL, that way you know you'll be getting memory that has been tested and known to work. You can find the QVL here: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450-TOMAHAWK
RAKESH KRISHNA (1 month ago)
Literally this is the best b450 motherboard out in the market.GIGABYTE has really bad vrm
Denis Fortier (27 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech yes because of the VRM design. It was tested in a Buildzoid video in much details about the Vrm temperature.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I think the current gen gigabyte stuff is really good, at least for z390 and the latest stuff. I also think MSI's b450 gaming pro carbon is better, one of the best b450 boards available.
kwent seven (2 months ago)
What's different between b 450 and x470?
RAGNES7 (1 month ago)
What about crossfire and StoreMi?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
This image shows the differences between the platforms: https://www.techpowerup.com/img/uikcg3hVXONqfMDf.jpg
Cade conny (2 months ago)
will the b450 work with ryzen 5 2600x 3.6hz??????
NEXOS 3D (1 month ago)
5 2600x is 4.2 ghz
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yes.
David Yang (2 months ago)
the way you say port XD
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
*P O R T*
katsablockos (2 months ago)
For ryzen 5 2600 will i have a problem with the stock cooler ? Does it fit ?
katsablockos (2 months ago)
Trick question Shall i invest into x470 or not ? I dont have high requirements
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It will be just fine. Any AMD Ryzen CPU and stock cooler will fit on any AM4 motherboard, they're designed to support it.
Topher Wise (2 months ago)
Am I hearing correctly that this only has ONE USB 3.1? That seems a little silly...with many cases having multiple USB 3.X connections on their header
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yes just one internal header for front panel connections, but I think it allows you to use two ports. External though it has 2 on the back that are gen1, then a type-a and type-c gen2 on the back too.
shlomo braun (2 months ago)
can i use a Dolby headset with this motherboard, WITHOUT a sound card? i have the Ryzen 7 2700x with this. And also, for some reason i cant install the drivers for the asus dgx audio card. i went onto their website and it still doesnt work... so thats partly why im asking..
shlomo braun (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech thanks for trying. I hope someone has an answer
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Honestly not sure about that at all, sorry.
Skrty (2 months ago)
Can this support RYZEN 2600x?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yep, any current Ryzen 1 or 2 CPU will work
JAVIER alvarez (2 months ago)
yes
James - Fortnite (2 months ago)
The cpu cooler lights up??
Sven Wolf (2 months ago)
It's not with all AMD CPU coolers. The " Wraith Stealth" cooler, for example, has no lighting. This exact cooler is the "Wraith Spire". Check here: https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/cpu-cooler-solution
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
+James - Fortnite Cheers! No problem at all
James - Fortnite (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech Getting one for Christmas nice review thanks for getting back to me
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah the stock coolers that fine with AMD CPUs light up
Kean Martinic (2 months ago)
What type of fan is used in this video?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Do you mean the CPU cooler? It's just the stock one that came with the CPU.
RavenAegis45 (2 months ago)
Seems like a well built mother board but with only 4+2 power phases seems like too little for good overclocking
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Probably enough I don't think you really need 8 pin unless you're going really hardcore lol
Nikolaj Oudman (2 months ago)
Will this work with a AMD ryzen 7 2700x?
Denis Fortier (2 months ago)
It will work but you have to setup the BIOS to get memory frequency to 3200 MHz. If not, it will work at a memory clock frequency just a little below 3000 MHz. This is the build i intend to do in 2019
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
+I'm On Social Media It will probably fine, but that's just my best guess.
I'm On Social Media (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech, Is it OK to use this B450 Tomahawk for Ryzen 7 2700X using Stock Cooler and then adjust base clock speed to 4.0Ghz for all cores, and use 16GB @ 3200Mhz RAM? We all know the base clock speed of 2700X is 3.7Ghz. Your help and suggestion is highly appreciated. Thanks
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yes, although not too sure how vrm will go under heavy overckocking
Isaiah Siewert (2 months ago)
What case is it in the video?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It's the nzxt h700
furious destroyer (2 months ago)
this will work with a ryzen 7 1700x right?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Cheers!
furious destroyer (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech tysm. great review.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yep
Felix S (2 months ago)
What is that case please tell me I love it
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No problem at all!
Felix S (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech thank you
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It's the NZXT H700 👌
tifius (2 months ago)
Excellent review mate, well done.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Thanks!
tonkatoytruck (2 months ago)
This board looks like a great budget solution for overclocking an APU with its Vsoc heat sink. Too bad it loses one M.2 slot and Display port vs. the Mortar with no Vsoc cooling. Kind of an important distinction from the other motherboards with 4 + 2 phase designs or less.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah I think I'd prefer the mortar just for that extra m.2 slot
Wrublos212 (2 months ago)
Anyone know is that board have digital audio coaxial output option ? Thanks is advance
Wrublos212 (2 months ago)
Too bad, thx for reply
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No I don't think so, just 3.5mm jacks x6.
mechaart (3 months ago)
I have the MATX Pro M2 of this board
mechaart (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Its small. Its basically a Micro ATX with only 2 RAM dimm slots with 32 GB's of DDR 4 Modules. I am just waiting for the 1700x cpu to arrive. My nephew gave me a old GTX 650 1GB GDDR5 video card till I get a gpu for X-mas. https://pcpartpicker.com/list/dNtPcY https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Warranty-Power-Supply-100-N1-0750-L1/dp/B01LZ3WDQG/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1542246539&sr=8-4&keywords=EVGA+750 https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aigo-Aurora-3-IN-1-Kit-3-Pack-RGB-Halo-Ring-LED-120mm-Computer-Case-Cooling-Fan/352440627968?hash=item520f193300:g:3xUAAOSwETJbroll:rk:3:pf:0 This is basically my 3rd rig that I built for to use when Im in my brother in law's condo since my 2nd rig is my gaming rig I use at home. Im hoping to get a 1070 or a 1080 Amp mini or Amp version since I have an amp extreme in my own personal rig for 4k gaming.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Cool, how's it going?
Elijah Antrobus (3 months ago)
Can i overclock with a ryzen 5 2600x and a gtx 1070ti
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Yes
O yeah yeah (3 months ago)
Guys im gonna be building my first ever gaming pc and my budget is just under $900 Specs Ryzen 5 2600 Gtx 1060 6gb B450 tomahawk motherboard 500w powersupply Adata 128gb ssd 2x4 ballistix ram (I have a 1tb hard drive so thats why i never added it to the list) My case is an Corsair carbide spec 0-4 which is $50 Mouse is an Logitech g402 Keyboard is an Redragon k552
Phrasal (1 month ago)
I would suggest you get a 16GB of RAM and you'll be set for the next 4 years. Other than that if you're not into overclocking I would also go for the 2600x version.
Duarte Fernandes (1 month ago)
Get a rx570, it's cheaper then a 1060 and faster
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
That sounds pretty well rounded already I think, with the extra money I would see if it's at all possible to upgrade the GPU as that will give you the best improvement to gaming performance (given you've already got a decent CPU, dual channel memory, and an SSD).
O yeah yeah (3 months ago)
All that together adds up to $808.89 which im happy with maybe you guys can suggest a few more items for my pc to add asthetics to the build like led lights? Conment below
PakosMédia (3 months ago)
Can somebody help me? I have r7 2700x with ASUS B350 and Kingston Predator 3200 Mhz, and i cant overlock it, memory works just on 2400mhz. What do you think, if i improve only the MOBO for this one, can it handle 3200Mhz? :) Thank you!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Hmm sounds like the memory may not be able to run at higher speeds on that board, a newer B450 board may help out, as memory support is improved in the 2nd generation, but yeah definitely worth checking or trying to find out that has your memory on the QVL if possible for highest chance of compatibility. Ideally where possible you always want to use memory sticks of the same speeds/voltages/brand etc.
PakosMédia (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech And yes, I tried xmp. If I try to oc, the pc will restart 3 times fast, and than go back to bios.
PakosMédia (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Actually i cant find that type of memory, on "Memory-QVL-for-AMD-Ryzen-2000-Series-Processors" - list, but it shows on the box, that that mobo can handle 3200 Mhz (With oc) I just asked. Coz cheaper for me to upgrade the mobo than the RAM. But what if i use both? I mean: I can find so much information on the internet on the sites, this mobo and r7 2700x works well that Gskill and Corsair... so I dont know what happens if i try to use it together with this Kingston RAM.Will it pull down the other one? I think this setup will not work properly :D Thank you anyway! :)
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Hmm what speeds does that board say it supports? Do you have the option to enable xmp in the bios?
john campos (3 months ago)
May i ask if this MOBO can last for years? Cuz I saw some comments on other videos that the gigabyte brand, specially there X470 boards just lasted for weeks and even just days.
Gagen Shrma (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech I have bought 2700x with g.Skill 8GB*2 3000 Hz RAM. Wont do too much OC, might try basic ones. Confused between x470 Taichi or B450 boards. Any suggestions? Will need M2 NVM SSD for booting.
john campos (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech I'm getting R5 2600 with fan deepcool gammaxx 400. Mg GPU would be Galax GTX 1060 6gb OC.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem! What CPU are you getting? If you're going 2600x/2700x and doing a high overclock I'd probably go the X470, otherwise I think the B450 is a pretty solid choice.
john campos (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech man, I'm gonna subscribing to your channel cuz you're the only youtuber who is replying to comments even though the video is weeks old. So what should I buy: B450 tomahawk, X470 gaming plus or X470 aorus ultra gaming?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Yes I don't see why not. Previous Gigabyte boards have had some pretty bad reputations, though I've heard with the newer stuff they're turning that around.
rangestyle (3 months ago)
Can I expect to XFR/Precision boost or overclock a 2700x on a B450 Msi Tomahawk? Hoping for something like 4.3~ on 1-2 cores while gaming.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
You can enable precision boost overdrive to essentially overclock for you but still make use of XFR2, yes. Those speeds sound reasonable fora 2700x.
Rance (3 months ago)
What, how did he get the RGB to work with the LEDs?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Install the MSI mystic light sync software to control the effects
Hakmer Siregar (3 months ago)
Can you guys review MSi B450 A-Pro as compared to Tomahawk? I'm confused on picking between the two as the Tomahawk is 31 USD more than the A-Pro in my country.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem! Yeah fair enough.
Hakmer Siregar (3 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Thank you. Tomahawk is very expensive in my country (cheapest at147 USD) and A-Pro is at 115 USD. Gaming Plus is at 132 and it's hard to find reviews for both gaming plus and A-Pro. The pricing is a bit much for the most part that even a Ryzen 2600 is 200 USD here in Indonesia.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Honestly depends entirely on what MSI have and can send over, I'll find out!
Ian (3 months ago)
Just to clarify if you use the M.2 slot you wont be able to use any of the SATA connectors or just 2 of the 4 wont be usable. I know you said the 2 on the right but I was confused as to mean that the 2 pairs of connectors on the right side of the board or the 2 on the right side when the board is oriented as you showed.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Just 2 of them will not be in use, you can confirm in the manual as it goes into more detail about which configurations disable what.
Tony Bologna (3 months ago)
lol using a Ryzen 3 for this myself.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Heh a bit of an overkill board for that I guess, but at least you've got the option of upgrading in future with the same motherboard 👍
CHINEDU NDUAGUBA (3 months ago)
Please is the MSI B450 tomahawk MoBo compatible with the athlon x4 950 CPU
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No, it uses the AM4 socket, so only the new 200GE Athlon would be compatible.
Potato Man (4 months ago)
This or the MSI b450 gaming pro carbon ac?
Imran S Omer (3 months ago)
+Potato Man Power Delivery 5+2 Better VRM cooling BETTER RGB Better IO Come with Wifi AC and Bluetooth.
Potato Man (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech when you say a bit better what parts of it are better?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Pro carbon is probably a bit better based on my experience with other verisons of that range, but I haven't tested the B450 one so can't actually say for certain, either way both should be pretty decent.
Jefferson Lorenzo (4 months ago)
Im planning to buy ryzen 5 2400g without gpu. Should I buy b450 tomahawk or b450m mortar?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Yeah I think Micro ATX case will be fine, of course they still vary in size / airflow, but they are typically designed with using discrete graphics in mind, so I don't think that should be an issue for a future upgrade path.
Jefferson Lorenzo (4 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech im also panning to buy gpu but not now since the prices of gpu are still very high. Another question. If i buy b450m mortar since I dont have gpu for now, is it okay to use a micro atx case? Or should i still need to buy standar atx case for better airflow?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I think either are probably overkill for an APU so what ever one has the features you like, eg tomahawk has one m.2 slot if I recall while mortar has two, so pick which ever gives you what you need.
Thor Invincible TO (4 months ago)
Will I be able to over clock my r5 2600 to 3.9 GHz with this mobo?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
No worries!
Thor Invincible TO (4 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech no, m planning to get it. Thanks for your time
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
The board should be perfectly capable of allowing you to overclock to 3.9GHz. Do you already have the 2600? Can you run it at 3.9GHz? If so all good. I haven't tested a 2600 so I don't know what speed a typical overclock looks like. If you're going to buy the CPU expecting a 3.9GHz overclock then I just wanted to note it will vary based on the CPU.
Thor Invincible TO (4 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech what do you mean? Kindly explain
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Should be fine in terms of the board, would depend more on whether or not you can get your 2600 to that speed I think.
Ed Jackson (4 months ago)
Wait with front panel USB 3.0 will I only be able to access one of my Front Panel USB ports?
Topher Wise (2 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech sorry for reasking this...I should have read further down before asking. Just so I am sure I am understanding: This (1) USB connection on the MB can serve multiple USB 3.1 ports on the case front header?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
No, although the board has one front panel header I think two USB ports use that connection. For example you night have 2x USB slots in the front of your case that connect with one wire, that should be fine
Vortex (4 months ago)
tomahawk or gaming plus?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Haven't tested gaming plus myself but personally I prefer the design of this one 😛 looks count for something once all your basic key features are satisfied.
AXR Lipee Jr (4 months ago)
does this compatible also to ryzen 5 2400g?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Yeah, any Ryzen gen 1 or 2 CPU will work fine.
Agnes Delos Reyes (4 months ago)
yes, all of ryzen cpu are compatible
Bernie Fajardo (4 months ago)
nice review! I think I'm getting this one for my upgrade. nice feats and not to mention the accent is not red-black ;D.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Thanks! Nice, hope you like it 😁 haha yeah good to not have the classic red and black theme!
fahad (4 months ago)
What about the b450 gaming plus?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Sure probably pretty decent for that.
fahad (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech im getting a ryzen 2600 16 gb ram 3000 1070 ti The b450 tomahawk is not available in my country should i get b450 Gaming plus ?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Not sure, haven't had it for testing, looks ok though.
Jakub. M (4 months ago)
This or ASUs B350-f gaming?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I'd get pretty much any B450 over a B350 for the better memory support.
naturalthalent1 (4 months ago)
What do you thing above this msi motherboard and R52600x? i want to oc to 4.2ghz...4+2 VRM is enough?.
Imran S Omer (3 months ago)
B450 Pro Carbon Can Handle Ryzen 7 2700X with 4.2Ghz, No issue no Thermal Throttling.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
No problem! I think that's a decent board, I used one recently in my AMD 2700 vs 2700X video, although it was borrowed for the purposes of testing the AMD CPUs so I didn't have time to do a full review video unfortunately!
naturalthalent1 (4 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech mmm ok. Then i aim to gigabyte x470 ultra gaming. Thanks!
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Not really sure to be honest, probably, depends on if you're CPU is able to reach 4.2GHz too though, I'd probably be looking for an X470 board for an overclock like that with better VRM.
ANIMA GOSPEL (4 months ago)
How much MHz does this RAM have?
Denis Fortier (27 days ago)
+Shalom ダミー no you have to check the QVL_DDR4 list for this motherboard on MSI web page.
Yash Sawant (1 month ago)
Can i use 4 sticks of 2133mhz ?
Shalom ダミー (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech Does it work for all ram sticks that has those speed?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
It depends on the memory that you install into the board. The board supports speeds of 1866/ 2133/ 2400/ 2667/2667/ 2800/ 2933/ 3000/ 3066/ 3200/ 3466 though.
Brandon Keffer (4 months ago)
I am extremely satisfied with my Tomahawk B450. I too am running 4.0GHz on all cores, but with a 1600x, with 16GB RAM at 3000mhz cl16. I have had zero issues with it as well.
john campos (3 months ago)
+Brandon Keffer oh. Nice nice
Brandon Keffer (3 months ago)
+john campos I've been using it for about a month now.
john campos (3 months ago)
How long have you been using it?
Brandon Keffer (3 months ago)
Additionally, I can confirm that MSI Mystic Light software does recognize and control Corsair's Vengeance RGB RAM lighting effects.
Brandon Keffer (3 months ago)
Sadly, no. The B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC from MSI does though.
SUWHI (4 months ago)
Systeam ? thx :3
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Hmm??
vBDKv (4 months ago)
I'm torn between this and the Asus Strix B450.
Denis Fortier (2 months ago)
with Asus, you will have to update the Bios and it is not easy like it is with Tomahawk board
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Hmm haven't personally used any ASUS boards so don't really know they compare.
jean (5 months ago)
your are exellent
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
Cheers 👌
Omar Ehab (5 months ago)
If I use the M.2 slot, Which SATA Ports will be available and at what speeds?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Hmm don't currently have any Asrock contacts, I'll find out about the MSI one, although a little busy for the next little bit, MSI are sending me RTX cards 😎 so that will be the priority for a bit.
Omar Ehab (5 months ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Great thanks! Can you please make a review about the MSI X470 Gaming Plus and the Asrock X470 Master? I really don't know which motherboard should I get from these two or from the B450 Tomahawk and Mortar
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
Two of the SATA ports become unavailable, I mention it in the video, otherwise check the manual for full details on the MSI website
Tysone Burns (5 months ago)
So this motherboard can only support DDR4 2666 RAM?
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
No problem! Sorry if it wasn't clear, I was just trying to say that 2666 is supported prior to overclocking/modifying it.
Tysone Burns (5 months ago)
Jarrod’sTech oh ok thanks for clearing it up!
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
No, as mentioned it goes up to 3466 once you overclock the memory / apply XMP profiles.
Robert (5 months ago)
I OWN THIS MOTHERBOARD, ITS ONE OF THE BEST
quantae06 (20 days ago)
I'm considering buying this now as I'm building a new PC. I'm buying a part one paycheck at a time. My current PC is sorely outdated and I have an old 2013 AMD FX 4130 & I still own a 7850.
Lanz Maglaque (26 days ago)
quick comparison whats the main difference of this to the Matx version and to the asrock ab350m pro 4
Yash Sawant (1 month ago)
Does 2133mhz 8 gb 4 sticks work with it ?
River Jiang (1 month ago)
+Definitely not Boosted thank u
Definitely not Boosted (1 month ago)
+River Jiang you can either buy a network card (usually around 15$) or in USB style, just search on Google tp link wireless usb
alanpk0 (5 months ago)
Thanks for saying that the LEDs can be easily turned off. And about the easy-to-use bios update. It made my mind about the purchase. One of the most informative reviews around.
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
No problem at all, cheers!
Brandon Kissol (5 months ago)
Jarrod pls make a review of the ASUS ROG Strix SCAR II and compare it with the Zephyrus M with both GTX1070 because that variant of those two laptops are similarly priced.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Hey just wanted to give you an update and let you know I've got the Scar II here at the moment for testing, so will have a few videos on it coming! Comparison still on the plan afterwards 👍
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
Hopefully, I've been trying to get it for a few months now. Just waiting for it to be available, I think all the review units are busy with other reviews still.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.