HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Jarrod'sTech

Herman Miller Aeron Chair Review - Most Comfortable Computer Chair?

366 ratings | 62334 views
The Herman Miller Aeron chair is widely regarded as being a very comfortable office chair, here we take a look and find out just how it works and performs, and determine whether the amazing comfort is worth the high price tag. Buy your Herman Miller chair here: http://amzn.to/2dOcewA --- Follow me here --- Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/JarrodsTech Google+ - https://plus.google.com/+JarrodsTech/ We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (134)
Hadhodwarax e (1 day ago)
No head support though
Jarrod'sTech (1 day ago)
I've never used it personally so don't really mind.
3EIT (11 days ago)
I have nothing to complain about that has to do with comfortably but the fabric on my chair tends to absorb the smell of some bodily function and lingers
Jarrod'sTech (11 days ago)
Oof, can't say I've noticed that myself.
Konrad Coner (13 days ago)
Guy buys a 1k chair - uses laptop with screen at stomach level - LOGIC
Jarrod'sTech (13 days ago)
Lol, that's just my crappy table I use to shoot video with, I sit at a height adjustable 2.1m X 2.1m corner desk ;/
The Monkey Prick (1 month ago)
Imagine shilling this much for a company you have no association with and that sells a $1000 office chairs, this is peak capitalism folks.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Imagine making a video about a chair I paid for because I like it and have used it every day for years, putting me in a position to help others who are after more information, pretty wild concept hey?
Armando Sanchez (1 month ago)
Aun Sun
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Aut Wut?
TheIcemanModdeler (1 month ago)
Even more expensive in Eu and doesn't even have a forward tilt.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
RIP
Adam Massinger (2 months ago)
You note to not to buy used that are greater 5 years of age due to parts. Do you know what manufacturer they started the metal?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I don't think I mentioned that in this video? I do not know that though in any case, sorry.
J W (2 months ago)
Im on the look out for a good used one of these as a replacement for my current chair, the Aeron has the best reviews. Apparently these were designed in 1992 and associated with the dot com era! Ahead of their time...they still look and perform great!
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah I've heard some stories of people getting really good deals on them from closing down offices and the like, probably priced by people who have no idea of their value, good luck!
hjorte (2 months ago)
Any issue with the arm rests hitting the edge of the table when trying to sit in a typing position?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Not really because I leave the chair at a height so that they go just below the desk, although my desk is also height adjustable so could raise it a little too
Wilson (2 months ago)
at 1k it better be
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I still love it, well worth it for me!
J. Jo (2 months ago)
00:54 is not a natural typing position for me. i HATE these chairs. no back support whatsoever. i end up having to bring a heavy sweater to work just to squish it between my upper back and the chair just so that i can sit naturally
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It literally has adjustable lumbar support 😛 it goes up and down, in and out quite a bit
Jose Ortega (3 months ago)
I’ve had one for 2 days and its killing my back to the point where I am going out of my way to not sit on it. I’ve messed around with the settings but nothing feels super comfortable. I have the B size which is the recommended one for my height and weight. However, mine doesn’t seem to have an adjustable lumbar support (it does go up and down but it doesn’t have a knob to push it in or out). Could that be the problem? Anyone have any suggestions?
hjorte (2 months ago)
Jose, I think you have the older lumbar system as opposed to the newer one which Jarrod is showing. The older one doesn't have an adjusting knob but you can turn the pad over to make one adjustment.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I usually end up sitting forward and don't use the lumbar support much so not too sure, perhaps it's a case of needing to adjust to it? Not really sure as I never had any issues myself, it was always just comfortable.
emil papis (3 months ago)
Had some issues(size and piston) with the first Aeron i bought refurbished, ordered replacement. Got a much worse one with several mechanical quirks. They didnt answer my mail, so i still have both for the price of the cheaper original one :) Too bad i dont have my house yet to put them both on display :(
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Hmm interesting, mine is still going well!
K. David Woolley (4 months ago)
You say it doesn't need to be assembled, but can it be broken down to fit through a narrow doorway? My DX Racer King Series only fit because the back came off and now I'm worried. Looking at Size C.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Hmm not sure to be honest, the website has assembly instructions but only seems to cover removal of some parts that can be replaced: https://store.hermanmiller.com/assembly-instructions.html?lang=en_US this does include the arm pads though which would probably aid you in fitting it through a tight space.
Arsagard Lim (4 months ago)
Aeron or Celle? Which is better:o
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I've never used the Celle myself so can't speak from personal experience, sorry!
Alpha (4 months ago)
What is that pounding in the last part of the video?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I think it was the cable from my headphones rubbing against the shockmount holding the microphone.
Dhono125 (5 months ago)
This chair better be made by vibranium xD
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
Part that, part unobtainium!
Tranceviking (5 months ago)
i have been looking for a while, cheapest used and i mean poor quality run at minimum 650 dollars in norway, but today I found an add with a lady selling a "gaming chair" for 45 dollars, i payed her unseen within 20 minutes of posting the add lol .. so now im a happy camper
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
Nice!
AyyGin (5 months ago)
If you dial the Posturefit knob all the way back, is it possible to not feel the lumbar support at all? Reason I ask is because I've tried chairs with built in lumbar support and sometimes they're just too stiff or get uncomfortable if I'm not sitting perfectly in place.
Jarrod'sTech (5 months ago)
You can just remove it entirely if you don't like it, but yes it does go quite far back out.
Yonatan Makara (7 months ago)
Good for gaming?
Yonatan Makara (7 months ago)
Thanks. Need one where i wont get my lower back muscles tight or in pain lol
Jarrod'sTech (7 months ago)
Sure 😛 you can stay comfortably seated for hours and hours.
Roq Steady (8 months ago)
Do you know can you remove or fold up the arm rests? Would be useful for when I play guitar. Also it looks like some kind of neck support might be handy.
Jarrod'sTech (8 months ago)
Thanks! Yeah I was able to find a local seller so I was at least able to try it before spending so much money on it
Roq Steady (8 months ago)
Thanks - been able to check a bit further. I found out it doesn't have a head rest, but there are some third party options available - although they are expensive. The real difficulty for me here in the UK is finding somewhere to try it out - wouldn't be sensible to spend £1000 without testing it out, however good the reviews are :).
Jarrod'sTech (8 months ago)
I think the newer model has a neck rest, not too sure as it's not something I personally need.
Sean McNamara (9 months ago)
Is this the "classic" Aeron chair that was produced from 1994-2016? The new ones are a "remastered" version with slightly improved ergonomics, a bit better build quality / durability, and generally all the things they learned from feedback and improved technology from 1994 til 2016.
Jarrod'sTech (9 months ago)
Yeah it's still going well, and I sit in it for hours every day 😃
Sean McNamara (9 months ago)
Thanks! I noticed the difference in the appearance of the mesh, and the tilt control is in a different place than I was used to seeing for an Aeron chair. For a several year old chair though, your chair looks like it's in great shape, so that's a hopeful indicator for me with a brand new Remastered chair just today. :D
Jarrod'sTech (9 months ago)
Yeah this is not the remastered version, I've had it for a few years.
The RighteousDude (9 months ago)
I was insane and dead broke and unemployed when I ordered mines from Amazon for $939.00 in 2016. Now I have buyers remorse. Because I am still dead broke and unemployed. Been poor my whole life. Every day I am begging the seller for a refund they keep basically telling me no.
The RighteousDude (8 months ago)
shut up
Jarrod'sTech (9 months ago)
Oh that sucks :/ I would have thought they'd have to have some sort of returns policy? In Australia I'm pretty sure we've got laws around that.
Media D (9 months ago)
Hi are you using the remastered version? Also what was the main reason for choosing B over C? Was it because the depth didnt feel long enough for your legs and the sides of the chair touched your thighs? This is what it was like for me on The B, i dont have the ability to test them you see. Also you can still adjust the height on c so your feet touch the floor right?
Jarrod'sTech (9 months ago)
Nah I don't think the remastered version was around when I bought it. Yeah it was mostly the depth, I thought as a taller person I'd need the C, but B just felt better in the end, it will depend on your height I guess but you should be able to adjust the height on the C so your feet are still on the floor
Joe Momma (9 months ago)
Subbed and liked! What is the best gaming chair for $300-$500? Is the 2018 omega the absolute best? I’m 5’7. I can easily game up to 14 hours a day on my days off work. Looking for absolute best for your body, back, neck, legs, etc. Do not care about looks. Is this better than the secret lab omega and Titan? I don’t mind spending $900 plus if it is better.
Jarrod'sTech (9 months ago)
Thanks! I've heard they are pretty good, but haven't actually tested them out for myself so I can't really say for sure. This is still the best chair I've ever used though, I'm about 6'1 and can easily sit in it for 15 hours at a time 😃 some other guys in the comments mentioned they picked some up second hand for really cheap, so that could be worth looking for too.
Diesels Movies (9 months ago)
I purchased 2 of these Aeron chairs. They are totally crap. I couldn't recomend these to anyone. After spending $1200 on each of them I feel I was ripped off. The chairs do not lock into position. You go to sit down and it reclines on you. Very dangerous and a OHS issue. These chairs are a designer's wank. They are useless.
emil papis (3 months ago)
Honestly you know you have a faulty unit stop saying its a bad chair when you obviously didn't try a working one. And since you had 2 its sound more probable that its a error: 40. I bought my 2 refurbished and they are the old models so most likely around 10 years if not more, and they are working fine. There are some quirks(on one), but thats to be expected from and old used chair.
RBNightlinger (4 months ago)
You're doing it wrong.
Diesels Movies (9 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech been there done that. Hoping for a reelaceent.....
Jarrod'sTech (9 months ago)
Mine's been locked into position with no issues since I bought it years ago, if it's broken you could probably get it fixed under the 12 year warranty.
Mytai (10 months ago)
I got mine for $20. NOT KIDDING. on a app called Letgo. But thats besides the point. These really need headrests as my neck is always aching
Eric Scott (22 days ago)
You can buy a headrest for it on amazon
Jarrod'sTech (10 months ago)
+Mytai wow that's a crazy deal! I think there is a newer one with a headrest option, not a big deal for me personally as I never use them and don't need them
Paul Steffens (10 months ago)
I've had mine since 2000 and now the soft rubber of the wheels has deteriorated and fallen apart, there's a hole in one leather armrest and the lumbar (not the Posture Fit as in this model) has torn. Not bad for 15+ years of pretty much daily use. I have found a local company that services Aeron chairs and can replace all these with original parts and they will also do some general maintenance. It will cost me a few hundred euros but then the chair will be as good as new and surely last me at least another 15 years. I'll probably switch to the Posture Fit as well. I've also recently found a third party headrest for the Aeron which is the only thing I find lacking currently so I have ordered one of those as well. I enjoy the chair every day so it's money well spend I say.
Jarrod'sTech (10 months ago)
Yeah that's not bad considering how long you've had it! I'll be happy if mine makes the 12 year warranty period because I'll still have saved money compared to buying other rubbish chairs.
the lockness monster (11 months ago)
I just purchased one in Cobalt blue. Hope it works
Jarrod'sTech (11 months ago)
Let me know how you find it! I'm still using mine and it's great :) I did try it out before buying though, figured it was worth it for such an expensive chair.
Anthony Hernandez (11 months ago)
i have those chairs at my work the best for sitting for over 8hours
Jarrod'sTech (11 months ago)
I wish I had one at work too! Sometimes I consider bringing it in from home haha
Jinx Zhang (11 months ago)
Very good brand of office furniture.My company is Herman Miller's dealer in China. In our showroom displayed some chairs and desks from it.Our brand is top1 in China, but I also want to buy a chair produced by Herman Miller haha
Yes but all I want in life is a chair that will LOCK WHEN ITS FUCKING TILTED BACKWARDS. STAY BACK. WHY CANT I HAVE A CHAIR THAT STAYS FUCKING BACK. ILL KILL YOU ALL.
Jarrod'sTech (11 months ago)
Hmm yeah it doesn't seem to have that option.
zilpes (1 year ago)
this chair is no match for the HUMANSCALE FREEDOM HI BACK CHAIR WITH HEADREST
Jaroslav Novotny (16 days ago)
+zilpes You can add headrest to Aeron as an addon.
Brad Leeming (8 months ago)
I got a freedom today and so far hate it, I'm constantly fighting the backrest into a good position. Do they get better? Pretty damn disappointed.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
+zilpes interesting, I'll be sure to try it out if I ever get the chance! Although I don't personally have any real need for a hesd rest myself
zilpes (1 year ago)
yes have used both. Just see this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjCfV2kvDig&t=66s I like the headrest which is missing in Herman Aeron.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Have you tried both? I haven't heard of that one before or tested it so I can't say myself which I'd prefer, I'm still very happy with my Aeron in any case :)
Carbonzilla (1 year ago)
I stole this chair on my last day of my old job had I known how much they cost I would have never taken it. These chairs are super comfy and I would highly recommend buying one.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Haha, great recommendation!
iMachi (1 year ago)
the seat is kinda hard for me.. my ass hurts. And my neck feels tired after a long time cuz no place to rest
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
That's odd, I find it comfortable even after hours. If I sit on a chair with lots of padding I will still get sore, this one has been the best for me, but I guess everyone is different. I've also never needed or wanted a head rest so can't really comment on that.
b (1 year ago)
This thing looks like a $150 chair bieng sold for $900.
RBNightlinger (4 months ago)
Best chair I ever bought. $700, reconditioned. Every penny well-spent. Very good lumbar support.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
It feels like a comfortable space ship ;)
It's Knowledge (1 year ago)
Jervin probably what he was expecting lmao
O Verdadeiro Jervoso (1 year ago)
It's Knowledge like a spaceship
It's Knowledge (1 year ago)
What do you expect a 900 dollar chair to look like ?
bishop8000 (1 year ago)
Notice to all British people. It's not pronounced Aliuminium... It's aluminum.
T.L B (7 months ago)
Haha. You're funny. Gave me a laugh. When you invent your own language come and tell us all. For now whilst you're still speaking ours, pronounce our words properly yeah?
Karl Z (7 months ago)
Well, if it's aluminium then bloody well spell it that way ya bunch of wankers.
JAERA (8 months ago)
Lol educate yourself mate.
Lilac Crab (9 months ago)
ITT: People not knowing what an Australian accent sounds like..
P I (9 months ago)
you're wrong. each country has its own pronounciation.
Tuimo (1 year ago)
How long does the bottom mesh material last due to constant friction with jeans and other pants and can it be replaced?
Paul Steffens (10 months ago)
The seat can be replaced, so that's the mesh including the plastic frame its in. Mine lasted fine even after 18 years of mostly wearing jeans so I wouldn't be too worried about it.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
I'm not sure if it can be replaced, but it would be covered under the 12 year warranty. Mine is still fine after a couple of years now.
Czar R. (1 year ago)
I just got one for free.99🤙🏼 and didn't know it cost this much
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Wow, lucky!
SkyScrapperLegend (1 year ago)
this chair legit looks like it has no cushioning and ur ass would hurt rlly bad after 2 hrs of sitting
acewelding (3 days ago)
+Keith Wilson LOL
Keith Wilson (4 months ago)
The seat area is suspended (like a hammock) and the lack of material just means you dont get sweaty balls or crack as there is through flow... I use one for work and I'm fun at parties ;)
iMachi (1 year ago)
I have so many office chair before, and I just got this Herman Miller Aeron. The seat is harder than others.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Yeah it does, but it's actually much softer and more comfortable than any other chair that has huge padding on it that I've ever used.
WhoChrisLiu (1 year ago)
Get them on craigslist. They run $300-350. Best money I ever spent and I been on my Aeron for 6 years already. All corporate liquidations and relativity good shape. I hear they change them out every 3 years, the company uses them as a tax write off. With the new 2017 remastered version out prices should be even lower. You can also check out the Steelcase Leap/Gesture and Humanscale Freedom, Lifeform is also good but harder to find. If you are set on buying new ask Herman Miller about the small business program discount. For example a Embody is $1400 retail and $800 after the discount (They often go on eBay pre owned for about $800) There is also niche brands like Interstuhl and Positive Posture they look cool but not much info about them. Gunlocke and Global make the Oval Office chairs but cost a arm and a leg.
GamingDeluxe (2 months ago)
helpful comment. thank you.
Sean McNamara (9 months ago)
Most of those chairs going for under $700 US are probably "classic" Aeron chairs, which are slightly inferior in terms of customizability and ergonomics.
Essential (1 year ago)
What about Ebay? Personally Ebay> Craigslist but thats just my opinion.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
That's a pretty good deal, I've never seen any for sale on there in my area.
Verdadeiro (1 year ago)
About this chair, do you think the armpads are worse if they are vinyl instead of leather? I mean, is vinyl hard plastic?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
I don't think so, I can push into mine and they are a little squishy, definitely not hard or solid, not super soft though.
Verdadeiro (1 year ago)
You said size C fits you. What's your size and weight?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
About 185cm / 85kg.
Xemex (1 year ago)
I plan on buying on in the future since I tried these chairs out and love them.
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Nice! My only regret is not buying it sooner, it's been a big improvement.
Daniel (1 year ago)
How quiet is it? What sounds does it make?
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
No noticeable sounds, just the gas lift up/down movements when adjusting.
danar j (1 year ago)
nice chair
Jarrod'sTech (1 year ago)
Thanks :P

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.